My pick of YA rom-com ♥

Most of the time I read fantasy. Some other time, I want to read something else, something light that I can finish in one sitting. People say it’s ‘summer reads’, but I don’t have summer in here. I call them chick flick, or rom-com, like that movie genre. This genre is the book equivalent of When in Rome and 27 Dresses the movie.

This kind of book has neither overly brilliant writing nor unpredictable plot. On the contrary, they have very cliche and predictable story line. Typically some swoon worthy guys, adorable chemistry, and hilarious jokes. It’s just the kind of books I pick up for fun. Ones that will make you all giddy and happy and ones you can always come back to. Here’s some of my favorites!

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins.

anna

 

My ultimate, numero uno favorite♥. Anna is an American girl who’s recently moved to Paris for her senior year in high school. This book is about her journey to make the best of her year, finding friendship and comfort, and above all, love. So sweet and fun. Charming characters. Paris. Paris at night. Those inside jokes. Witty dialogues. Some heartbreaking cliche. It’s definitely a page turner. So irresistible! And along with this book, the other ones written by Stephanie Perkins. Lola and the Boy Next Door and Isla and the Happily Ever After. None of them beats Anna, and I don’t particularly love Lola, but both are great reads if you want to go for something light and sweet :)♥

 

The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

Distance

Another one of my favorite. I just love this book instantly. It’s kind of cliche and slightly predictable. Poor girl, rich boy, somehow find themselves together in a journey to find out what they want to do in the future. It’s filled with cheap and dry humors but I can’t help but laughing. It’s like they didn’t even try to be funny but they are! Charming boy, witty girl, adorable exchanges. It was a pleasant read and a quick one as well. It’s something I can always go back to when I’m bored and need a laugh. I also recommend other books by Kasie West, Pivot Point, its sequel Split Second, and The Fill in Boyfriend. They’re all fun and hilarious, slightly predictable, but they also have charming guys on each books. Kasie West writes romance like no other!

 

Wallbanger by Alice Clayton

wallbanger

 

Ooooh this one is simply hilarious! Judging from the cover, I thought it is somehow ’50-shades’-y. But it’s not, so don’t worry. Or worry, if you’re expecting some Grey stuffs. It’s about a woman who’s recently moved to an apartment and apparently has a neighbor who likes to wall bang. Witty dialogues and I’m-not-even-trying kind of jokes from the beginning right to the very end. A lot of flirtatious, kind-of-pervert jokes, which are still so funny. Also, swoon worthy guy and smart-mouthed girl going for sweet, and adorable romance. A lot of sex scene, but even if you’re uncomfortable and choose to skip them, the book will still be funny and enjoyable. I’m so glad I stumbled into this book!

 

Paper Princess by Erin Watt

Paper

Another book I finished in just one sitting. It’s about a girl who’s plucked from poverty and now has to live in a mansion with 5 guys who don’t want her. Except, they do, of course. This book has every cliches you can imagine. Love hate relationship, the rich and the poor, high school dramas, the new girl kind of stuffs, you name it. This is Glee meets The Royals meets Meteor Garden. Surprisingly, I like it. It isn’t overly complicated and just simply likable. But it’s a major page turner because it’s just simply so addictive. The characters hooked me right from the beginning. I mean… a hot, smart mouthed girl and 5 super hot guys. And as cliche as the story gets, I was still emotionally invested. It’s the first book in the series so I’m waiting for the sequel!

 

That’s all I can think of at the moment. I have read other books but they just don’t make the cut. If you have other recommendations, please include them in the comments or recommend them to me through my Goodreads account 😀

Leave a Reply

