Top 10 Tuesday: Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed

Feel Differently

First of all, I know it’s technically not Tuesday. It’s Wednesday, I just found out about this and really want to make my own list. I hope it’s still Tuesday though… in some other parts of the world, no? Huh, let’s just do this! 😀

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

This week theme is Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed. That means less love, more love, complicated feelings, indifference, thought it was great in a genre until you became more well read in that genre etc. I’m excited about this theme because I’m one of those people who likes to reread books and memorize the conversations. So… yeah, I got plenty on my list 😀

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins 

I had a completely different feeling reading this book. The first time it was okay, kind of plain compared to the first book Anna and the French Kiss. But the second time, I decided to do a marathon read of the whole series and I totally LOVE it. It was just super awesome and lovely and adorable and it made me go for a third read. Isla and Josh are suddenly my favorite couple of all three! And now that I read it 3 times… I had most of the lines memorized. LOL. I wrote a complete review about my change of heart here.

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner

I read this book out of love for the cover. It was boring. I thought it was lack of tension and the whole ‘whispers’ things are confusing for me since I’m never a fan of outer space science fiction. I decided I won’t read the sequels. But then Illuminae came out and there were so much hype about it. I couldn’t help and picked it up. Best decision ever. I LOVED IT. My love for Illuminae made me reconsider my thoughts for These Broken Stars and I decided to give it another go. Suddenly I love it. I love the characters and the dynamic between them. The lack of tension suddenly stopped becoming a problem. I ended up reading the whole series 😉

The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

Could you believe it? That I honestly didn’t like this at first?? I can’t believe it either. I was a huge fan of Percy Jackson and the Olympian and greek myth retelling so obviously, I raced down to the bookstore when this book came out. I did not love it. I did not love Jason and I did not love the fact that there was no Percy in it. I DNF-ed it. Ugh 😦 I thought maybe I just love Riordan’s book because of Percy. A year later, The Son of Neptune was published and it was about Percy!! I was so excited that the whole gang is back on the book and I immediately started reading it. Heroes of Olympus turned out to be one of my favorite series of all time!

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

I used to really really really love this book. All of it. The characters, the plot, the writing, basically everything. I cried a lot reading this book. One fine day I decided to reread this in the hope of reliving the emotions I felt back then. I was disappointed. It didn’t feel nearly as good as that first time. It’s still one of my favorite book though, and Will Herondale is still, and will always be, one of my favorite book boyfriend 😉

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I read it before it was even a thing. I bought the translated version on a local bookstore because the cover was cute. I didn’t like it. I didn’t like it very much. The story was blah and the writing was just bad. Before the movie was out, I decided to give it another go. I read the original english version and it was so much better! I ended up liking it. Turned out the translator just did a crappy job translating this piece of literature. Huh.

On the Fence by Kasie West

Kasie West is one of my auto read author. After Pivot Point and The Distance Between Us, I promised myself to read everything she writes. I used to like this book, it was cute and adorable, so when I was bored and had nothing to read, I went for this book. I had a change of heart. Or mind. It was boring and the story dragged on for too long. This is my least favorite Kasie West’s book of all time. P.S. I’m still gonna read anything she writes, no worries about that 🙂

Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James

Confession time, I actually like this book. And the other two in the series. It’s my guilty pleasure :’) the first time I read it, it wasn’t good and kind of… ew. But I decided to read the sequel anyway and all of a sudden, I like it. I reread the first and ended up liking it as well. I mean… setting aside the whole BDSM things, the story between Anna and Christian was pretty good. Although over jealous and strictly controlling, Christian actually loves Anna and I found it sweet. LOL. I’m ashamed of myself sometimes when it comes to this book.

Supernova: Akar by Dee

This is one of the best series in Indonesia. It’s a local literature and written by the famous Dee Lestari. I love the first book, Ksatria Putri dan Bintang Jatuh so I was excited to read this. Turned out it was boring and I didn’t like it. I read it just for the sake of finishing the book. A couple months ago, the sixth and final book Inteligensi Embun Pagi came out. Before it was out, I decided to do a complete reread on the whole series to freshen up my memory. Guess what, I love it. I love it I love it I love it! It was cool and funny and full of life lessons. I think they have the translated English version.

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

I was in middle school when Twilight first came out. I loved it immediately. I mean… I was in middle school, duh. Vampires were a thing back then, and hot guys?? Yes please! As of why I felt the need to reread it in the first place, I can’t remember. But the second time I read it, it was BAD. Capital B. I just don’t like it anymore.

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

I read it because my best friend really liked it and wouldn’t shut up about it. It was okay, but because my friend kept talking about it, I felt like I should like it. I thought I like it. I read the sequel and I forgot about a lot of things so I decided to reread it. I really, really did not like it. I hate it. I hate the whole series because it ruined angels for me. I was so traumatized that I did not want to read anything about angels any more. My trauma was finally cured when I read Angelfall by Susan Ee.

4 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed

  1. Ahh, I’m so glad to hear you changed your mind about the Heroes of Olympus series. Whilst I didn’t love it as much as I loved the PJO series, it’s still definitely one of my all time favourites ♥ Have you read The Hidden Oracle?

    Like

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Tuesday: Beach Reads Week – Unboxing My Thoughts

Leave a Reply

