Top 10 Tuesday: Beach Reads Week

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Beach Reads

This week theme is Beach Reads Week. That means top ten great beach reads, ten books I plan to read on the beach, ten beach reads for those who don’t like typical beach reads, ten authors who are my go-to for beach reads, etc. Since we don’t have summer here and I don’t usually go to beach to read, I’ll go with Ten Books I Feel Like Reading on a Warm, Sunny Day. Close enough, eh? 😛

This generally means light reads, page turner, mostly stand alone books with cute romance and happy ending. It’s a book that I could just enjoy without having to worry about suspense and plot twists. Pretty much books with predictable story line and a lot of cliche, giddy moments in it ♥

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins 

This book has been featured on list of 10 Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed and review that I’m not even gonna waste the time to explain about it anymore. It is simply good and sweet and it’s something I can always pickup anytime I need a boost of happiness 🙂

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Another book with a dose of happiness. Pretty much the same with Isla. Anna is so undeniably cute and adorable. There are so many lines in the book that makes me smile and giggle. I’m laughing and blushing so much during this book! ♥

The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

This is such an adorable read. A witty poor girl meets a swoon worthy rich boy. A little bit cliche but regardless, highly enjoyable. The humors are just so funny and the romance is totally sweet! Kasie West is definitely my auto read author when it comes to young adult contemporary 🙂

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Since You’ve Been Gone is the story about a girl on a journey to find herself. It is probably the only Morgan Matson book that I enjoyed. It is highly predictable, but I kind of like its simplicity and predictability. It is also set in the summer and there are a lot of beach moments involved so it’s only fitting that this book made the cut 🙂

The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

Another piece by the awesome Ms. Kasie West. Although not as good as the previous books, I still found myself enjoying it to the bits. I like the main characters as well as the side ones, they’re funny, entertaining, and they help build the story. It’s a bit ftv-ish, but it still melts my heart 😛 I’ve read it 2 or 3 times so far.

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Cute teenage romance combines with family drama always win my heat. It sure makes a good summer read. Sweet and quick. So many emotions involved. Wonderful page turner. Lurrrrvin the main character so much because Jase is just a perfect guy made in heaven 😛 on the other hand, there’s certain annoying character that I just wanted to punch.

Wallbanger by Alice Clayton

This is probably the least innocent of all because the characters are all grown up instead of highschoolers and college students. It is ridiculously funny! Hot, caring, and funny photographer who can make the most delicious dinner ever. Witty girl. Love hate, cutesy romance with a lot of flirtatious moments 😛 I’m a sucker for this kind of one-time read. Though, I feel like there’s lack of conflict, I still enjoy it a lot.

You Against Me by Jenny Dowham

For some reasons, this book stirred so much emotion in me. It is so deep and I always love a good family drama. Despite the depth and sensitivity of the story, I still found it a light read. Finished it in just a couple of sittings. I love the main characters and the dynamic between them. Their chemistry is just so undeniable! Love love love ♥

The Last Dance by Kiki Hamilton

This, my friend, is another definition of cliche. A super hot high school quarterback as main character? Check. BUT that doesn’t mean it’s not good. It’s about friendship, self healing, self discovery, and obviously, love. Though I have to admit the ending was very much too good to be true. This book isn’t really well known and I forget how I stumbled into it in the first place.

Looking for Alaska by John Green

It is probably the darkest book among the others on the list but I just love it. It’s the only truly good and not overrated book of John Green that I like. It is genius, brilliant, extremely beautiful, and so much better than TFiOS and Paper Towns. It was a quick read for me but it still managed to emotionally wrecked me.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

22 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Beach Reads Week

  1. So, I’ve read (and LOVED) all but four books on your list. I need to read The Fill-In Boyfriend sometime this year. Sooner rather than later, because I love Kasie’s books. Wallbanger is LOL funny. I listened to it on audiobook while I was commuting to work and people were legit looking at me like I was insane, as I sat in my car and laughed until I damn near cried.

    Great list! Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Now that’s a funny story! Hahaha people must think u’re crazy lol but wallbanger was definitely hilarious, I was giggling like mad reading this book. Ahh yes please! The Distance Between Us is better but if u like Kasie’s writing I’m sure u’re gonna enjoy it anyway 😀 thank u for reading, I’ll definitely check out your list!

      Like

    • That’s great! Did u read the other Morgan Matson’s books? Since You’ve Been Gone is the one I like most! 😀 well actually Looking for Alaska is the only one I really like though… thank u for reading! 🙂

      Like

  2. Wonderful list! Since You’ve Been Gone made my list as well! I personally love all of Matson’s books, but SYBG is definitely my favorite. I also love Stephanie Perkins’s novels! Isla is my favorite of those three. There really are some fabulous summer reads on this list.

    My TTT!

    Like

    • Well I might be on the minority here but SYBG is the only book of her that I like… I read Amy & Roger but I didn’t like it, I’m a few chapters on The Unexpected Everything but even it felt slow to me lol I’m so on board with u Isla and Josh are my favorite couple of all!! 😀 Thank u for reading, I’ll make sure to check out ur list as well 🙂

      Like

  3. What a great list! I love that Anna and Isla have a place (cannot wait to read the last two books in said ‘Anna’ series) and of course, Morgan Matson and Kasie West seem IDEAL candidates for this topic! Great list.

    Thank you so much for visiting Finding Wonderland this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know right!! They’re like the perfect summer reads 😀 ohhh u haven’t read Lola and Isla? You HAVE to! Especially Isla, I love it so much and u can read my review HERE 😛 ahh of course it’s my pleasure to read what people lists on their summer reads!

      Like

Leave a Reply

