Top 10 Tuesday: Most Favorite Fictional Couples in Books

Whoa it’s been a while since the last time I’ve been here 😦 Real life is CRAZY! With my minor thesis defense coming next Tuesday, I’ve been so busy preparing myself and all the required documents. Can’t believe I’m sooo close to my bachelor degree! 😀 On the other hand, I’m so behind on reading your posts and comments and I feel bad about it 😦 But I promise I’ll catch up! Soon ♥

SPARKLING LETTERS BOOK BLOG- TOP 10 TUESDAY - MOST FAVORITE FICTIONAL COUPLES

 

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

This week theme is Top Ten Books We Enjoyed That Have Under 2000 Ratings On Goodreads. It could either be so difficult or ridiculously easy! I mean… most books by my local author have under 2000 ratings, but that would be cheating, wouldn’t it? Also, I’m a super mainstream kind of girl. I read books with huge hype so I didn’t even know 10 books that have under 2000 ratings, let alone pick the ones I love.

So instead, I’m gonna do last week theme, which is FREEBIE WEEK! It means I can go with any topic of my choice or go back and do one I missed! Since I’m a hopeless romantic, I decided to make a list of my Most Favorite Fictional Couples in Books. I shipped everybody so hard and I’m wayyy too excited for this topic! Love is in the air, baby ♥♥♥

Penryn and Raffe from Penryn and the End of Days by Susan Ee

My favorite couple of ALL time! Penryn is a kick ass heroine who’s definitely not a damsel in distress while Raffe is an archangel with a corny sense of humor. Their interactions are so natural and hilarious. NO insta-love whatsoever. The relationship builds up slowly ever since Angelfall, where they started out as allies. As they set out to travel and save their people, their feelings for each other change and turn into something more.

What I love the most is that it follows the pattern of an actual relationship. No ‘feel the air change when he’s in the room’ or sudden, unnecessary sexual tension. It also helps that they’re both smart and realistic. They keep it real because they know their priorities. Love them both to bits! 😉

Kestrel and Arin from The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski

This is not your usual romance. It’s a complicated love that doesn’t blossom overnight (again, no insta-love yay!). Through their interactions, we readers get a sense that they have grown used to each other, but we’re not sure when the real romance is going to happen because the stakes are just too high. They both know that a relationship between them won’t be true. Again, I always love it when the characters keep it real 😛

What I really loved about the book was that even if the whole book is about romance, neither Arin or Kestrel allows their relationship to dominate their common sense. They’re not some couples who could just flee from their responsibilities to be with each other. It’s so heartbreaking to see they relationship goes through so much obstacles. To this day, I have re-read the whole series twice and each time, I swooned and cried over their relationship.

Feyre and Rhysand from A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

I love love love this couple! Their relationship feels so real and deep and all the dynamics between them feels naturally developed. It’s not at all like Feyre and Tamlin’s relationship. It is the real deal. A love that begins with friendship and trust. I love how Rhys treated Feyre as an equal, the High Lady of the Night Court ♥ He’s so honest with her and he never shuts her out. He values her freedom and opinions and that’s just VERY SWOON WORTHY!  He didn’t shut Feyre out. I’m aaaallll for Feyrhys right now!! ♥\

Mor and Azriel from A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

I SHIP THE SO HARD!! I’m a hardcore shipper of Mor and Azriel! Come to think of it, it’s kind of random… there wasn’t any scenes even remotely close to kissing between the two but the chemistry turned out to be SO strong! They care so much for each other and they always watch each others’ back and I’m melted…. :’)

Kady Grant and Ezra Mason from Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

I was immediately won over by Kady and Ezra. Kady is smart, persistent, and a risk taker. She’s an I’m-gonna-do-whatever-I-like kind of girl. A bit bossy with a snarky sense of humor. Ezra, on the other hand, is a romantic idiot who likes to goof around and be silly. Not so much as a risk taker, he prefers to not seek trouble when he can. He also has a really, really catchy sense of humor which I’m totally LOVING. The chemistry between them is also very, unbelievably, adorable! Even if we could only see their IMs, not the actual interaction, it already feels so adorable. Imagine the real chemistry when they’re together for real:) They’re one of those cute, hilarious couples that you just can’t help but SHIP SO HARD!

Isla Martin and Joshua Wasserstein from Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

I’m so sure that Stephanie Perkins successfully brings her A-game with this couple. Isla and Josh are definitely a perfect match. Perfect chemistry. Josh is stubborn and careless and Isla knows how to respond to him. She’s so full of support and she knows how to soften Josh. In return, Josh is willing to show her his true self, his vulnerability, right down to his soul. It’s crazy how romantic and adorable it is! It’s a stupid crush turned to love. From the early awkwardness to the fiery passion and unconditional love. It is so heartwarming but still realistic and not overly done. I love that we could see the ups and downs between the two lovebirds ♥

Shahrzad and Khalid from The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Between Shazi’s wit and Khalid’s calmness & temper, their interaction is somehow SO sweet and romantic. Khalid doesn’t make small talk much so when he talks to Shazi it actually means something. This love story isn’t over cute or adorable like the others, but it somehow gives me chill. Super awesome!


Other than those couples, I also love Clara and Tucker from Unearthly, Zuzana and Mik from Daughter of Smoke and Bone, & Connor and Laila from Split Second ♥ What about YOU? Who are your favorite couples? TELL ME TELL ME TELL ME! ♥♥♥

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Find more of me on my social media ♦

Instagram Twitter Facebook Goodreads Pinterest Linkedin

 

7 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Most Favorite Fictional Couples in Books

  1. Pingback: Sparkling Letters Monthly Recap: July 2016 | Sparkling Letters

  2. Pingback: Pokemon Go Book Tag | Sparkling Letters

Leave a Reply

