Top 10 Tuesday: My Bookish Confessions

I love talking about myself! I mean… who doesn’t? We bloggers are all somewhat narcissists like that 😛 Lucky for us, this week theme allows us to do so ♥

SPARKLING LETTERS BOOK BLOG- TOP 10 TUESDAY - MY BOOKISH CONFESSIONS

 

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

This week theme is Ten Facts About Me. The facts could be book related or general or really anything we want to talk about. So today I choose the theme My Bookish Confessions ♣ Everyone has at least one (or many) bookish secrets, so I’ll let you know mine and in return, I expect to know some of yours 😛

I judge people based on books they read

I’m kind of ashamed but I can’t help it… One’s taste in books reallyyy define whether we could be book friends or not </3 This is my challenge question in Goodreads: “Recommend me a book that will leave me emotionally overwhelmed. Preferably some dystopian and fantasy novel.” If the answers are books that I dislike or from the genres I have no interest reading, I’ll pass. I don’t mean to play hard to get, but I used to be friends with everyone who added my Goodreads account and my feed turned out to be such a MESS! So I decided to befriend only the people who share the same taste with me. BUT, it doesn’t apply in real life. We could be friends regardless we have the same taste or not 😛

I have a love/hate relationship with spoilers

hate spoilers, I really do. I especially hate it when people offhandedly spoil major info on their reviews. There was the time when I read a review of The Infernal Devices and the reviewer recklessly wrote too bad Will died . There was also the time when I read a review of The Last Stars and the reviewer wrote Cassie died. I was like WTF WOMAN??! Don’t you realize what you just did?!

giphy

I was furious and I swore to never write spoilers without using spoilers tag. BUT the funny thing is that I sometimes intentionally seek spoilers for some books. It usually happens with books I’m dying to read but can’t get my hands on them yet. In the end, I always end up regretting it but I also always end up doing it again.

I keep notes on books I loan to people

I’m a book hoarder but a very neat one so naturally, I am very protective of my books. I hate it when people borrow my books and then ruin them. Or even worse, forget to return it to me. In order to avoid that, I keep notes of books I loan. Even better, I take pictures of them so I know which books are where. Also when people take too long to return my books, I casually (but intentionally) say things like “hey do you still have my books?” or “could you tell me which of my books are with you? I’m rearranging my bookshelves” or “hey are you finished with that book? A friend of mine want to borrow it.”

I’m a bit passive aggressive like that.

I hate blurbs that say “This book is perfect for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell”

I love John Green but Rainbow Rowell is totally overrated. How about that? Oh, here’s an idea, why don’t you just write a regular synopsis and let me decide for myself? This kind of blurbs are often misleading.

I (secretly) use my father’s credit card to buy books

When I went off to college, my father gave me a credit card on my name but is linked to his account. It is intended for paying groceries and stuffs like that. He said I could buy books but wisely. In reality, I have used the credit card to buy books more often than necessary. I can’t help it, there are so many books out there that I need to buy. I’m sure you ALL get it 🙂 and when I buy books via bookdepository, there’s no other choice but using credit card even when I have my own money… sometimes I feel guilty and I meant to pay him back but I often end up didn’t 😛

giphy (1)

Other than books, I can guarantee I’m an incredibly responsible spender!

Sometimes I give out books I received as presents

All my friends know I love books but they mostly don’t know what kind of books I actually love. So on my birthday, they often got me books as presents, which I TOTALLY appreciate, but sadly… well… don’t like. That’s why I sometimes give those books out as presents for other people’s birthday or donate them for charity. I feel bad, really, but I think it would be more useful than just sitting sadly on my bookshelves 😦 I keep all the books that have birthday wishes written inside though 🙂

There are some books I pretend to have read

Don’t we all? Or is it just me? Sometimes I just skimmed through a book and pretend that I have read it. I also talk to people as if I have read it. I feel bad, I know, but I promise that doesn’t happen often!

I haven’t read a lot of books that I bought

I’m convinced that this is not just me. Most of the time, I’m more interested in looking for books to read than reading them itself. I have a pile of books that I haven’t read on my bookshelf. On top of my head there are Glass Sword, Queen of Shadows, The Retribution of Mara Dyer, The Infinite Sea, The Sky is Everywhere, I’ll Give You the Sun, and not to mention books by local authors!

I actually enjoy Fifty Shades Trilogy

Okay, feel free to judge but Fifty Shades Trilogy is kind of my guilty pleasure. I actually like the relationship between Ana and Christian no matter how twisted it is. I admit it’s a bit (or a lot) gross and nauseating, but what can I say? When you like, you like it. HEHE 😛

I think Rainbow Rowell is overrated

giphy (2)


There I finally let my secrets out! I still have some more bookish confessions but I thought I’d save them for later. Care to share yours? I would LOVE to hear yours because really, who doesn’t love some good old secrets? 😛 Also, feel free to share the link of your  own TTT posts, would love to check them out ♥

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Find more of me on my social media ♦

Instagram Twitter Facebook Goodreads Pinterest Linkedin

10 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: My Bookish Confessions

  1. Hey the saying is ‘dont judge a book by its cover’ no one ever said anything about not judging people by the books they read.I think its safe to say we all do it a little bit 🙂 Totally agree with the blurbs one, but I think im the opposite, kind of like Rainbow but think John Green is over rated haha loved the confessions though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know righttt it’s kind of inevitable but I feel like a mean person to ditch someone based on books they read 😛 Ugh right, I much prefer people write a regular synopsis over blurbs like that, sooo misleading 😦 Thank you! & thank our for commenting 😀

      Like

  2. Omg giving your own books that you don’t like as presents is a GENIUS IDEA I WILL DEFINITELY DO THAT. XD But, aww, I definitely don’t judge people on what they like to read! Everything is so subjective! If I only liked people who had similar bookish taste to me, I’d miss out on sooo many epic friends. XD And book buying but not reading? MY LIFE ENTIRELY AHHHHH. It’s a problem, but at least books are so so pretty to pet and look at right?!? :’)
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I KNOW RIGHTTTT! Or charity, charity accepts ALL kind of books so it won’t matter if the books have some kind of flaws 😛 Ughhh I know I should definitely try to do that TOO often 😦 Yesss at least they make my shelves look pretty! Or not, actually they make my shelves look way messier because it’s so full and I just put new books wherever I see fit but it’s okay because I love books too much!!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Sparkling Letters Monthly Recap: July 2016 | Sparkling Letters

  4. Pingback: 20 Bookish Habits I’ve Been Having Since the Old Days | Sparkling Letters

Leave a Reply

