10 Overused Book Tropes That Need to Go Away

Through my reading journey, I have encountered so many tropes that are used repeatedly. Cliches. I can’t deny that sometimes they’re good. Obviously, cliches become cliches for a reason. They work. But when overused, they become so tiring and unoriginal and I can’t help but wishing for them to go away. So here are my version of 10 Book Tropes That Need to Go Away.

10 OVERUSED BOOK TROPES THAT NEED TO GO AWAY - SPARKLING LETTERS BOOK BLOG

Love Triangle

Twilight has successfully ruined this trope for me. It was brutal and it forced me to choose between the two guys. I hate choosing, I always end up disliking the other guy. I was a hardcore #Team Edward, no idea why 😦 I honestly don’t mind if the love triangle is executed right, but the problem is it rarely is. The main character gets so wrap up in choosing between the two and it makes her so unfocused and uninteresting!

There was also that time when I read Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck. I love the story but I hate the fact that most of the time, Kelsey was so devastated from being torn between two men. It’s kind of disturbing. The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare is one of the very few books that manage to do it right. I suspect it was because it didn’t follow the pattern of most love triangles.

Most love triangle has one girl and two guys who (almost) always happen to be rival. Or hate each other. (cough, twilight, cough, the tiger’s curse).TID did NOT do that. Will and Jem are best friend who have each others’ back and will do whatever it takes for that other person’s happiness. They don’t hate each other, so I don’t hate any of them. I’m #TeamWill but I also root for Jem. Even if love triangles are inevitable, I hope they at least follow this pattern.

Insta Love

Unrealistic and completely overused. Insta attraction DOES exist, but to lay your eyes on someone and just know that he’s the one? Or even worse to feel the air changed when he ‘walks in’?

Hell no (3)

One example at the top of my head is probably The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi. The love story was so rushed! I totally get that Amar’s love for Maya goes way back to the past, but in terms of the book, it felt too instant. The problem with insta-love is it doesn’t provide us enough details and chemistry. I’m an extremely feely person when it comes to book so chemistry is my best friend.

True Love at 16

No, just no. This is ridiculous. I’m so mad. Sure it happens to the small numbers of very lucky people but it doesn’t happen THAT much! When I was 16, I met some cute guys, develop a crush, go out on dates, and that’s it. I didn’t meet my true love and right now at 21 I still think I haven’t.

giphy (2)

Teenagers Being the Chosen One

…whilst completely unaware of their powers. I think we got it covered by Harry Potter. Harry’s the only one who can defeat Voldemort and he was unaware of his power because he was raised by muggles. Great. Super awesome. Totally LOVE IT! But don’t you think it’s kind of old (and unoriginal) to keep using this trope!?? Why would someone be the only hope for the world’s peace? The world is a big place and putting its destiny on some teenagers’ hands is just unreasonable.

Why couldn’t we have more heroes/heroines like Penryn Young? She’s out there to save her family, not the world, and it makes her more realistic.

A Pretty Girl Who Doesn’t Realize She’s Pretty

Of course at some points this particular scenario actually happens. I have a very good friend who is so pretty and soft but never really realizes that. But for this to happen on ALMOST all YA fictions? Who are you kidding? Even I realize it when I look pretty (ugh, narcissist alert :P)

A Supermodel Looking Bad Boy

Trust me, I understand the appeal of a bad boy.

More often than not, I find them more interesting than a nice good guy. But a completely troubled, rude, and full of angst guy is just too much to handle. It screams BAD INFLUENCE and I don’t know about you but I would stay away of it, for the sake of my safety. This kind of character shows up in almost all YA urban fiction and recently becomes overused.

Female Character Who’s Obsessed with Classics

This might started out as unique but it turned out to be SO overused! I don’t even know a real friend of mine who loves classic literature that much? Besides, aren’t we all adults who still and will always love YA?

Love Cures Mental Illness

Gahhhh. You know how I feel about this. Just NO. I need this trope to go away, like, last year!

giphy (5)

Main Characters with only One Friend

Seriously, what is wrong with you? How could you only have one friend? I know there’s a different school system here and in the US, but personally, I am friend with all my classmates and most of my school mates. At least those in the same year as me. We don’t hang out all the time but we know each others’ names and say hi on daily basis. I mean, how could you not recognize people who have been on the same classes with you for so many times? It’s just so arrogant and completely ignorant. It’s okay to only have one best friend but it’s just weird to not have other friends other than him/her.

Teen Angst

The one that is always unhappy, thinks no one understands them, and is angry at everyone all the time. Teenagers experience mood swings but surely not that extreme? I’m also sick of super whiny, overly stubborn, immature girls. I was so annoyed with City of Glass because Clary was being a total brat. It’s just exhausting to read a story from their perspectives. Frankly, I feel like I’m too grown up to deal with this trope. Teen angst is definitely a turn off for me.


There is always an exception. All those tropes above, if done right, can be so interesting and awesome. I’m just tired of reading them in almost EVERY YA BOOKS. What do you think? Got any book tropes you want to go away? I’d love to know yours! ♥

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Find more of me on my social media ♦

Instagram Twitter Facebook Goodreads Pinterest Linkedin

18 thoughts on “10 Overused Book Tropes That Need to Go Away

  1. Ohh this is such a great post, and I agree with you on like, EVERYTHING haha. Love triangles are so overused, it’s getting boring and not surprising at all anymore. And I so agree with you on insta-love, I don’t believe in it at all, and what bothers me the most is how, like you perfectly said, “the air changes when he walks in” and stuff like that. It’s just, too much. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I knowww it’s annoying and I almost always avoid a book every time I sense a love triangle coming 😦 Insta love is the worst!! I don’t think that actually happens in real life though… I love my romance juicy and burning slowly! Thank you so much for commenting 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree that tropes/cliches can get tiring fast! Although I … *whispers* don’t agree that these tropes are in “every YA book” … hehe. I actually rarely come across love-triangles these days! WHICH IS A BLESSING. And not every book goes with every trope, it’s just not really possible anyway. 😉 But I totally am with you on a ton of these! I dislike the “Love cures mental illness” trope a LOT because it’s super unhealthy. I think love can help with mental illness, for sure. There’s nothing like love and support to help you through hard times! But cure? NOPE. And it’s disturbing if a person’s happiness relies solely on one person. NOT HEALTHY. And ughgghhg to instalove. I think it’s lazy writing! (This is like the main reason I haven’t picked up The Star Touched Queen yet. Eeeeek.)

    And omg YES. What is it with the obsession with the classics?!?! I don’t even know any teens who like classics. hahah. XD xD

    Loved the post!

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah… I might be A BIT exaggerating haha ughhh how am I still facing love triangles every now and then?? I’m sooo tired of it! I know rightttt of course love helps but it shouldn’t be the ONLY CURE. It’s an insult for the mental health professionals 😦 Omg totally agree, so lazy! You don’t look at a person and know he’s your true love… you just don’t. It’s probably the most unrealistic trope of all 😦 I know right! I’m probably still gonna be reading YA 10 years from now 😛
      Thank you!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Tuesday: Ten Books Set Outside the US | Sparkling Letters

    • *high five* 😀 I know right it takes away our focus from the main issue of the story… not good! well I blame the author for that matters haha I mean, is the girl seriously that attractive that guys are fighting over her? 😛 thank you for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well, yes it’s the author’s fault. Haha. I just don’t like it when the girl can’t make up her mind and continue to lead on both the guys. I really avoid book with this trope because I’m sure I’ll give them a 2🌟 rating which is unfair for the book because I’m really biased. But I might make an exception for TID, sounds like a great trilogy.🙋

        Liked by 1 person

        • Gahhh that’s so annoying. That’s exactly what happened on Tiger’s Curse </333 me too I tried to stay away from love triangle as best as I could. I almost didn't read A Court of Mist and Fury because I was afraid of love triangle but I'm glad I did, it was awesome! 😀 Ohhh yes TID is awesome, so MUCH better than The Mortal Instruments!

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Sparkling Letters Monthly Recap: July 2016 | Sparkling Letters

  5. Pingback: Young Adult Contemporary Romance: Why So Irresistible? | Sparkling Letters

  6. Pingback: 10 Book Tropes I Need to See More Often | Sparkling Letters

  7. Pingback: Double Review: I’ll Give You the Sun & The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson | Sparkling Letters

Leave a Reply

