Halloween Read-A-Thon TBR

halloween-readathon.jpg

After participating in #DiverseAThon this month, I’m so eager to join another read-a-thon as it ‘forces’ me to break out of my comfort zone! ♦ Good news, Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews is hosting Halloween Read-A-Thon where she asked us to read scary books with her! ♥

I’m not a fan of horror stories because they creep me out, but I do have some scary books on my TBR that I’ve been putting off for ages! I figured this would be the perfect time to start devouring them. The read-a-thon will run from October 10th until October 31st and there will also be challenges on the books we read. Since I’m a very competitive person, I LOVE CHALLENGES! But if you don’t, that’s okay too because Lauren said that she wanted to make this event as chill as possible.

Before I show you my TBR, you should head to Lauren’s blog and check out her announcement! 😀

costume-party.png

9460487

MISS PEREGRINE’S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

I’ve been planning to read this for forever! ♦ The premise is intriguing but I’ve been hearing so many mixed reviews that I ended up putting it on hold. But with the movie coming out soon, I knew I had to read it first. It’s also a perfect book for this challenge because nothing is scarier than a girl in a middle of a dark, deserted place :’)

haunted-house.png

222

THE ARCHITECT OF SONG 

For most of her life, nineteen-year-old Juliet Emerline has subsisted – isolated by deafness – making hats in the solitude of her home. Now, she’s at risk to lose her sanctuary to Lord Nicolas Thornton, a twenty-seven-year-old mysterious and eccentric architect with designs on her humble estate. When she secretly witnesses him raging beside a grave, Juliet investigates, finding the name “Hawk” on the headstone and an unusual flower at the base. The moment Juliet touches the petals, a young English nobleman appears in ghostly form, singing a song only her deaf ears can hear. The ghost remembers nothing of his identity or death, other than the one name that haunts his afterlife: Thornton.

To avenge her ghostly companion and save her estate, Juliet pushes aside her fear of society and travels to Lord Thornton’s secluded holiday resort, posing as a hat maker in one of his boutiques. There, she finds herself questioning who to trust: the architect of flesh and bones who can relate to her through romantic gestures, heartfelt notes, and sensual touches … or the specter who serenades her with beautiful songs and ardent words, touching her mind and soul like no other man ever can. As sinister truths behind Lord Thornton’s interest in her estate and his tie to Hawk come to light, Juliet is lured into a web of secrets. But it’s too late for escape, and the tragic love taking seed in her heart will alter her silent world forever.

I really love the cover and the synopsis sounds very interesting! Though you might have noticed that’s a very, very long synopsis, isn’t it? Even after I cut two paragraphs of it 😛 anyway, I haven’t read any of A.G. Howard’s books but I’ve heard so many good things about Splintered. Safe to say I’m so excited for this one! ♥

urban-legends.png

27833670DARK MATTER

“Are you happy with your life?” Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious. Before he awakens to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits. Before a man Jason’s never met smiles down at him and says, “Welcome back, my friend.”

In this world he’s woken up to, Jason’s life is not the one he knows. His wife is not his wife. His son was never born. And Jason is not an ordinary college physics professor but a celebrated genius who has achieved something remarkable–something impossible.

Is it this world or the other that’s the dream? And even if the home he remembers is real, how can Jason possibly make it back to the family he loves? The answers lie in a journey more wondrous and horrifying than anything he could’ve imagined—one that will force him to confront the darkest parts of himself even as he battles a terrifying, seemingly unbeatable foe.

Thriller is my ultimate WEAKNESS! I’m scareeeed the vibe is just too scary too handle! I think I’m more afraid of reading thriller than stories about ghosts… (maybe) 😛 Dark Matter sounds really interesting and I hope I will get around it (fingers crossed).

witching-hour1.png

9378297

ANNA DRESSED IN BLOOD

Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead. 

So did his father before him, until he was gruesomely murdered by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father’s mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. They follow legends and local lore, destroy the murderous dead, and keep pesky things like the future and friends at bay.

Searching for a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas expects the usual: track, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he’s never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, now stained red and dripping with blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.

Yet she spares Cas’s life.

Just like the others, this book has been on my TBR for a loooong time. I promise I will read it soon! 😛 anyway, I’m naturally a night reader who loves to pull an all nighter every time I read a book so this challenge shouldn’t be difficult, right? NOOOO! Reading at night is not the same as reading ghost stories at night :’) But I’m putting it under this challenge anyway. Let’s hope I don’t chicken out later 😛

trick-or-treat.png

15768409THE RETRIBUTION OF MARA DYER

Mara Dyer wants to believe there’s more to the lies she’s been told. There is.

She doesn’t stop to think about where her quest for the truth might lead. She should.

She never had to imagine how far she would go for vengeance. She will now.

Loyalties are betrayed, guilt and innocence tangle, and fate and chance collide in this shocking conclusion to Mara Dyer’s story.

Retribution has arrived.

Let’s take a second to appreciate my bravery because I chose trick! Pffttt… don’t tell me this book isn’t scary. IT IS, MY FRIENDS! It scared the living life out of me! Precisely the reason why I’ve been putting it off for so long, other than because I completely forgot about everything :’)

all-hallows-eve.png

18053060DOROTHY MUST DIE

I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero. But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado – taking you with it – you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a yellow brick road – but even that’s crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy. They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm – and I’m the other girl from Kansas. I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked. I’ve been trained to fight. And I have a mission.

I chose Dorothy Must Die as my sixth book because I’m so so so curious! A horror spin off of Wizard of Oz?! YES PLEASE! ♥♥♥ The series is already complete so I might as well binge read all of them 😛

pinkdivider

Those are my TBR for Halloween read-a-thon! But beware of change of plans because I’m such a moody reader with tendency to deviate from my TBR 😛 Do you like to read scary books or do they creep you out like me? What are your favorite horror/thriller? If you participate in this read-a-thon as well, link me to your own TBR so I can check it out! ♥

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Find more of me on my social media ♦

Instagram Twitter Facebook Goodreads Pinterest Linkedin

22 thoughts on “Halloween Read-A-Thon TBR

  1. Pingback: 👻🎃 Halloween Read-A-Thon: Announcement & Details!!! 🎃👻 – wonderless reviews

  2. I loved Dorothy Must Die; I hope you do too! I picked Anna Dressed in Blood for the Costume Party category; so excited to read it! Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is such a good book! Happy haunted reading and good luck! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

