Books I Read Because of the HYPE (and totally live up to it)

TOP 10 TUESDAY- BOOKS I READ BECAUSE OF THE HYPE. SPARKLING LETTERS BOOK BLOG..jpg

Hello everyone! ♦

It’s been a while since I’ve been actually active on the blogosphere. I’ve been busy and haven’t had the time to reply comments or blog hop. My whole blog post schedules are a mess because I’ve been behind on drafting all the posts I have planned 😦 but I’m planning to blog hop and draft some posts today in case I don’t have the time to do it again 😀

Today’s post is something I’ve been planning for awhile… hyped books that totally live up to the hype and MORE! I’m also going to link this post to this week Top Ten Tuesday, Books You Read Because of Recommendation. I know I’m a day late for TTT, but whatever right? 😛

I’m a pretty mainstream reader. I read what everyone else is reading because of the hype and I just don’t want to be left out 😛 So here are some books that I read because the whole world recommended them to me… and they were right to do so! ♥

Review ADSOM 3.jpg

A Darker Shade of Magic by VE Schwab

I totally resent the fact that NO ONE made me read this sooner! I’d been hearing a lot of positive reviews about this book, but it was only until after I started blogging that I actually picked it up. And OMG IT WAS AMAZING! Now every time someone asks me my favorite fantasy book, I definitely include ADSOM on my answers ♥

Review Six of Crows.jpg

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

This book is definitely a TOTAL HYPE! I shied away from this book for so long because I didn’t actually enjoy The Grisha. I was afraid it would be another ‘it’s not you it’s me’ kind of books for me. After reading so many rave reviews about this book, my curiosity started to get the better of me and then one day I went to the bookstore and it was there! On discount! I mean, of course I bought it. Best decision ever! ♥

The Winner's Curse 2.jpg

The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski

This book was recommended by some of my favorite reviewers on goodreads. I wasn’t even interested at first. The summary sounds very political and historical and I’m not really a fan of those two. But they were praising it, claiming it was one of their ultimate favorite and I was easily swayed so I ordered the first book straight away! It’s not in this photo, but The Winner’s Curse is my very first hardback 😛

Review I'll Give You the Sun 2.jpg

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

I didn’t even know what this book was about except that it involved two twin siblings but they hype was HUGE! Most people whose reviews I adore seemed to be in love with this book so naturally, I bought it 😛 Another one of my best bookish decision, this book was INCREDIBLE! I definitely need another book by Jandy Nelson in my life.

ACOTAR 3.jpg

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

I totally read it because of the hype. I’ve marked it as to-read ever since it first came out because Beauty and the Beast, but I wasn’t totally intrigued by the summary so I kept putting it off. But then more and more people seemed to be raving about it and telling me that it was so much better than Throne of Glass. I was swayed, obviously 😛 and they were right! It was SO SO SO GOOD and a million times better than Throne of Glass. Same goes for the sequel, I was nervous because people loved it so much and I was afraid I wouldn’t. But no, I love ACOMAF even more ♦♦

Illuminae 3.jpg

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

This book was totally, totally over hyped back then! My favorite reviewers (and basically everyone) were raving a lot about this book and I was super nervous because 1) I was never into sci-fi, especially outer space sci-fi. 2) I didn’t enjoy These Broken Stars that much, and 3) I wasn’t sure about the formatting. But I read it anyway because I was curious (on kindle at first)

And it was so so incredible! Hands downs, THE COOLEST book I’ve ever read. I definitely understood what the fuss was all about. I raced down to the bookstore to buy the hardback version and reread it straight away. I’m so obsessed with this book and I can’t wait for Gemina to come out this month! ♥ PS… I took out the dust jacket because it was blurry in picture 😦

pinkdivider

Yayyy those are some books I read because of the HYPE! All of them are really popular books because… well, the hype was the reason I read them in the first place 😛 Have you read any of them? Do you feel ‘pressured’ to read hyped books like me? Or not? I’d love to hear your thoughts and don’t be shy to link me to your own TTT! ♥

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Find more of me on my social media ♦

Instagram Twitter Facebook Goodreads Pinterest Linkedin

32 thoughts on “Books I Read Because of the HYPE (and totally live up to it)

  1. I’ve had I’ll Give you the sun on my TBR for soo long, so many people tell me how good it is, I think I might have to succumb to the hype and pick it up soon 😀 I’m in love with the rest of these books, ADSOM, ACOMAF, Illuminae, SoC! I love them all so much and shout at everyone to pick them up 😄 Great TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love love love the winners trilogy and Illuminae so much! I am so excited to read Gemina when it comes out. I have been meaning to buy A Darker Shade of Magic but for some reason I always forget about it. Great list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OMG YES TO ALL OF THESE. The Winner’s Trilogy, Illuminae and Six of Crows are all some of my favorite books as well so I’m so glad to see them on your list. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LOVE this list! Totally agree with you on all of these! I really need to read a lot of the sequels to the books on your list! The only series I have finished is The Winner’s Curse series, the rest I am behind on. I need to read Crooked Kingdom, ACOMAF, AGOS, and Gemina like, NOW! I also loved I’ll Give You the Sun too!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Shanon! ❤ Ahh you NEED Crooked Kingdom! I just finished it and it was incredibly brilliant, a perfect sequel to Six of Crows 😀 I have AGoS but haven't read it yet because I was afraid the wait for the third book would be insufferable 😛 Gemina is out tomorrow and I AM EXCITED!! ❤

      Like

  5. I am SO happy you loved I’ll Give You The Sun so much, it’s one of my favorite books of all times. I love Jandy Nelson’s books so much, the way she writes, her characters, and I can’t wait for her next book to be released! ❤
    I've been staying away from Six of Crows for a while, but I think the hype never dies down on that one, does it? Maybe it's time I read it…. ? ahah. And I caved and bought Illuminae recently, I'm going to read it soon. I'm a bit nervous about it all, but I hope I'll end up loving it as much as you did 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

