Review: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before // My Favorite Trope, Relatable MC, & Fabulous Sister Dynamic

sparkling-letters-review-to-all-the-boys-ive-loved-before-by-jenny-han-1

RATING : 4 Stars

I was nervous to read To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before because of the possibility of a love triangle, but surprise, surprise, I loved it! I actually, really loved it ♥ The plot is as usual as contemporary romance can get BUT all the other details are what make this book so special.

I love Lara Jean as a character. She’s half Korean half American, which is refreshing, and her Korean family name is Song, which reminds me of Song Hye Kyo and Song Ji Hyo and every other Songs I knew from Korean entertainment 😛 Lara Jean is a fun, witty girl who prefers to stay at home to bake, scrapbook, and hang out with her sisters and I could completely, utterly relate to it! I mean, I don’t bake nor have sisters but I have actually turned down so many hang-out invitations because I prefer to stay at home. and I’m actually a very, very social person 😛 though unlike Lara Jean, I love driving!

I love both of her sisters as well, Kitty is so fun and mean and her logic is so valid that even Peter can’t argue with her. Although… I’d probably want to strangle her if I were her sister (haha no kidding) and I could totally understand Margot! Sure she was a bit annoying at some points, but hello #relatable. I’m a first born and I lived away from home for 4 years so I got her, ok? I understood her so so badly and this alone made me love this book already ♥

I also love the Song-Covey family. I always love books that feature a relatable family in it. The sister dynamic was so adorable! Like I said, I don’t have any sisters but I have a sibling so I figured it would be the same in the sense that you love them and hate them at the same time? 😛 also, I love their father, he’s so kind and strong and funny lol

sparkling-letters-review-to-all-the-boys-ive-loved-before-by-jenny-han-2

This book also featured one of my favorite trope of ever, pretend relationship ♥ It’s always, always so lovely to watch. Surprisingly, the love triangle didn’t bug me AT ALL. I mean, it technically wasn’t a love triangle… but you have to see it for yourself 😉

Though I had to admit Josh kinda irritated me… he started off okay, even amazing and super dreamy, but he was getting more and more annoying. It’s understandable, but still. Peter, on the other hand, sounds like my kind of guy. Not because he’s handsome or popular but he’s funny and calls Lara Jean’s bluff all the time :’) the chemistry between him and Lara Jean was also so cute and natural and I want more of them?! I wish he would’ve put more effort for Lara Jean, but I guess that’s how actual high school guy actually behaves 😛

I was also marveled by the amount of FOODS mentioned in this book. SERIOUSLY, there were a lot, if you’re wondering. Like literally almost every chapter mentioned a dinner or lunch pack or breakfast or BAKING! OHHH BAKING ♥♥♥ I’m not usually affected by foods in books but their korean foods and all the cakes and cookies kinda made me hungry :’) I mean…

“My dad’s made bo ssam, which is pork shoulder you slice and then wrap in lettuce. He brined it last night in sugar and salt and it’s been roasting in the oven all day. When it’s finally time to eat, my dad has everything laid out on the dining room table so pretty. A silver bowl of butter-lettuce leaves, just washed, with the water beads still clinging to the surface; a cut glass bowl of kimchi he bought from Whole Foods; a little bowl of pepper paste; soy sauce with scallions and ginger”.

And this

“There’s coconut cake, the kind with white frosting that looks like a snowball-I like that a lot. But then I also like cheesecake, and lemon cake, and carrot cake. Also red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting, and chocolate cake with chocolate ganache frosting. Have you ever had olive-oil cake?”.

How could you NOT be hungry reading those stuffs? :’)

sparkling-letters-review-to-all-the-boys-ive-loved-before-by-jenny-han-3

To top it all off, this book was SO FUNNY! The writing was so light and the characters are sassy, I cracked up so much reading this book! It was effortlessly hilarious 😛 all in all, To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before is another one of my favorite contemporary and I’m so excited to read the sequel, P.S. I Still Love You ♥

watercolour-flower-collection-resize

to all the boys i've loved before.jpg

Book title : To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before
Author : Jenny Han
Publisher Simon and Schuster

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

pinkdivider

Have you read To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before? What do you think about it? Do you love it or do you really love it? I’d love to hear your thoughts! ♥ 

Anyway, I’m thinking of starting a marathon of contemporary romance to get me out of this slump. Shoot me some recommendations! What are your favorite contemporary books? A little pointer, I love something sweet, cheesy, and sassy. I don’t mind predictability within the plot. All recs are appreciated! ♦

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Find more of me on my social media ♦

Instagram Twitter Facebook Goodreads Pinterest Linkedin

23 thoughts on “Review: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before // My Favorite Trope, Relatable MC, & Fabulous Sister Dynamic

  1. i’m glad you like this book! i agree, i also really love the song-covey family! they just really care with each other and have that deep connection. i also really admire their father, he really worked hard and try his best for his girls! ❤ i also feel the same about josh, i even liked him better than peter at first, but as the story goes he just get more annoying-_-

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad too! ❤ I know rightttt they're just so REAL and I really admire Margot & Lara Jean for being so mature to take care of the whole family like that… I mean, I'm older than both of them but I still depend on my parents most of the time :') he is sooo annoying!! 😦 oh, have you read book 2?

      Like

  2. I love Lara Jean as a character too! She was just so relatable and adorable awkward 😄 This whole series is so much fun and I can’t believe we get another book! I’m so excited to read more of Lara Jeans story.

    Morgan Matson is great for some fluff I loved Since You’ve Been Gone and The Unexpected Everything, also anything Kasie West or Huntley Fitzpatrick their books are a bit “predictable” but there so enjoyable anyways 😄 Hope your slump goes away soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yessss the amount of awkwardness is just so real! ❤ ahhh I haven't read book 2, is it as good or better? 😛 but yes I'm so excited especially after reading the synopsis for book 3, sounds like another relatable story!hahaha I've read SYBG but haven't got around to The Unexpected Everything yet, I was turned off by the amount of pages of that book :') but I will definitely give it a try! AND OMG KASIE WEST IS MY FAVORITE ❤ She's the mistress of fluff and adorableness!!! What's your favorite Kasie West's book? Mine is PS I Like You 😛 thanks for the recs!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • My fave is On the Fence but I loved PS I like you and The Fill in boyfriend 😀 SYBG is my fave MM book but The Unexpected Everything is a great read and I liked the page count because it gave me more time in the story, sometimes I think contemporaries are to short for my liking and I just want more 😄

        I think I enjoyed it the same maybe a little more because Lara Jean grows into her own a bit more 😀 There were some scenes in the second book that just made me want to hug the book and characters there so sweet 😄

        Liked by 1 person

        • Ahh On the Fence is my least favorite, but I absolutely adore The Fill In Boyfriend 😛 ohh I’m the contrary, I got a bit lazy if contemporaries are over 400 pages 😛 Awww that makes me super excited to read the second book! I’ll wait until Heartless is released to go to the bookstore so I could pick them both at the same time 😛

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Roles of Family in Young Adult Fiction // A LOT of Book Recommendations! | Sparkling Letters

  4. Pingback: The Emoji Book Tag // Two of My Favorite Things in One Post | Sparkling Letters

  5. Pingback: Book Recommendations for the Notorious Shipper Out There! <3 | Sparkling Letters

  6. Pingback: Review: PS I Still Love You // First Love is So Adorable! | Sparkling Letters

Leave a Reply

