Review: VICIOUS // Villainous Characters + Genius Plot + Science = I’M OBSESSED!

Sparkling Letters Review- VICIOUS by VE Schwab (2).jpg

RATING : 5 Stars

Goodreads Amazon The Book Depository

THIS MIGHT BE MY NEW FAVORITE BOOK. I’M SO IN LOVE WITH VICIOUS ♥♥♥ I’m so obsessed with it, it was just so so SO GOOD! Where do I even begin??!!!

Basically Vicious got everything : anti hero + villain + science + twisted mindset + revenge + EOs + stabs + plot twists + emotional roller coaster ride.

This book is a masterpiece–I mean, I know I said it to every Schwab’s book of ever but it really is. It’s intriguing and it hooked me right from the very first chapter. I’m so in love with how simple yet complicated the plot actually is. In short, it’s just Victor planning revenge for Eli, but the how and why are just so so so amazing!

the-plot

Have I mentioned how intriguing this book was??? Well, the plot is as genius as Schwab’s other books, if not better because this story is just so stunning! Schwab successfully mixed science+fantasy+evil and it’s like watching mad scientist only 100% better!!! I love science and I’m thoroughly pleased with its role in this book! ♥ Ehem, ok enough with flailing… for now 😛

The whole time I was reading this book, I was constantly on edge. There was a lot of twists and even better, I could almost predict them! Not because it’s not surprising (it is!), but because this book made me think. I followed the story really closely and paid attention to every details ♦

I love the fact that this book was very character-driven. Everything happened because the characters planned or chose to do so. Most of their actions were driven by these three emotions : ENVY, ANGER, and CURIOSITY (if that counts as emotion) and I love love love this kind of story! It’s like Inside Out but a million times darker? It’s fascinating to see how evil human could be 😛 which brings us to the next point.

Sparkling Letters Review- VICIOUS by VE Schwab (3).jpg

the-characters

The characters are really, really precious they’re so complex and have rich back stories. There are so many dark emotions involved and it makes the characters become so much more interesting. Because obviously, we all have that side in ourselves and I’m glad Schwab brought it up in this story.

Victor Vale, our main character, is one of the most interesting person of ever. He has a lot of sides, the dark and the light and everything. He’s ambitious, driven, bold, calm, yet compassionate at the same time. He didn’t hesitate before killing people but have you looked at how he took care of Sydney and (to some extent) Mitch? He’s probably my newest crush ♥

Eli is just twisted. He acts like this perfect boy next door, calm and nice and whatnot but deep down he has a very, very dark side that only some people could see, Victor included. My favorite part of Eli is his belief, he actually believes that God had ordered him to do everything he’s done so far. He believes that he’s blessed and better than everybody else. It’s so refreshing to see a villain be a villain because he’s like that, not because some tragic past forces him to do so.

Mitch. I really like him! I like him enough to freak when something bad happens to him (which is A LOT). He’s like this tough and vulnerable guy whom people are afraid of on sight but love once they get to know him. Also he hacks which is amazing. Sydney is this 12 year old with a frightening ability. I never really enjoy a child in an adult book, but to my own surprise, I really like Sydney, her character development is just so good. Serena, on the other hand, possessed an even more frightening ability. She’s as twisted as Eli but deep down she loves Sydney and it adds more complication to the story.

I am SO marveled by these entire crew of characters. Everyone is incredible and has distinct personality and their dynamic is so fabulous! There’s no romance (unless you count Eli with Angie or Serena) and I don’t even have a problem with that. I’m a notorious shipper, I ship people all the time, so the fact that I don’t mind the absence of romance is saying a lot.

Sparkling Letters Review- VICIOUS by VE Schwab (1).jpg

the-writing-2

The writing alternates between past and present and each character has their own POV, which is absolutely amazing because you could cover 10-years-worth of story without a single info dumping. Seriously, there are loads of information but it’s not boring at all. I was totally immersed in it ♦ the writing is also super neat and everything is crystal clear. I could imagine ALL the scenes and the details so vividly. That doesn’t happen very often, which is another reason why I’m so pleased with this book.

ALL IN ALL, Vicious is a fabulous book full of villainous characters and dark emotions and I can’t get enough of it. I’m definitely planning a re-read soon. This book might beat A Darker Shade of Magic as my favorite Schwab book 😛 and OHH! I think the ending was PERFECT so what is Vengeful about?? Either way, I’m excited and can’t wait to read it! ♥

pinkdivider

Have you read Vicious? What do you think about it? I am absolutely obsessed (haha) and what is your favorite Schwab book and why? I’d love to hear your thoughts! ♥ As always, let’s steer clear from spoilers 😀

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Find more of me on my social media ♦

Instagram Twitter Facebook Goodreads Pinterest Linkedin

31 thoughts on “Review: VICIOUS // Villainous Characters + Genius Plot + Science = I’M OBSESSED!

  1. I NEED MORE VICTORIA SCHWAB OMGGGG. I read the Archived and it was SO SUBTLY MAGICAL AND LOVELY annnnnnd then i never picked up any more books of hers…WHOOPS. I will definitely be remedying this with Vicious 😉 i love characters driven by strong emotions, especially such interesting ones like envy, anger, and curiosity!! looooOoooOooovely review ❤️

    Like

    • OMG YES. PLEASE DO! Vicious is downright amazing and you won’t want to miss out on it! 😛 I love The Archived toooo it’s so magical and world building is just 10 out of 10. I haven’t read the sequel, The Unbound, because I don’t want to run out of Schwab’s books to read! Hahaha 😛 yaaaayyy thank you ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I want to read this SO badly!! I still haven’t read a book by her yet :/ I think I am about to start A Darker Shade of Magic though…but this one sounds SO cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes yes yes YESSSS. This is probably my one of my favourite books of the year and I’m so glad you liked it too! I literally couldn’t put it down when I read it and had to keep it with me from start to finish. It was everything I ever wanted in a sci-fi book, and trust me, I was flailing too when I first finished it. Schwab is a master of her craft. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    • So glad you agree!! Exactly, I think this book is a lot faster than Schwab’s other books, isn’t it? I mean, the others especially ADSOM is so slow but this one it more gripping and intense and I also brought it wherever I went!! ❤ I can't wait for her upcoming books 😀

      Like

  4. YESSS I LOVE THIS ONE SO MUCH TOO!! I think I prefer ADSOM just a smidge more?!? But Like all the stars for all of them!! Schwab is a GENIUS and that is that. *nods* Also Vicious was my first Schwab book and definitely got me 100% addicted to her writing. And I just loved how morally grey this book was. Like who even was the villain?! THEY WERE ALL VILLAINS AND IT WAS GREAT.🎉

    Liked by 1 person

    • YEEESSS it’s honestly hard to pick a favorite among Schwab books because all of them are basically 5 stars ❤ she's the best!! I'm Schwab's trash and proud of it 😛 truuuuue I'm sure this is definitely your kind of book though hahaha but yes I'm happy that there's no noble cause or anything, everyone is just evil ❤

      Like

  5. This book is definitely my favorite Schwab book! I love how Victor always took care of strays 😂 The way he cares for Mitch and Sydney is just so cute! I also loved how Eli thinks he had been blessed by god to do all the killings. His fanatism kinda scares me. Serena felt unecessary to me though. I think Vengeful will be about Eli. I mean… Victor already got his revenge so why would he be vengeful? 😀 Great review puput!

    Liked by 1 person

    • YAYYYY *high fives* ❤ Ahhh I basically love everyone in the book they're all incredible except maybe Angie who's got no personality whatsoever? She's so bland 😦 I thought so too, but wouldn't it be the same plot as Vicious except with the role reversal? But nahhh, I don't think we need to worry about plot because Schwab is a genius and she clearly knows best 😛 thank you Tasya! 🙂

      Like

  6. I really need to read a book by this author already! This is the second rave review I’ve read for this particular books and I love the whole idea of a world full of anti-heroes and villains. I definitely plan on reading this and her other books next year. Great review! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Sparkling Letters Monthly Recap: November 2016 | Sparkling Letters

  8. Pingback: The Emoji Book Tag // Two of My Favorite Things in One Post | Sparkling Letters

Leave a Reply

