How to Turn People Into A Bookworm

SPARKLING LETTERS BOOK BLOG- HOW TO TURN PEOPLE INTO A BOOKWORM.jpg

Hello everyone! ♥

Welcome to my first discussion post of the year! I planned to post this two days ago but something terrible happened and I just couldn’t bring myself to. I’m also very grateful for everyone’s support yesterday, and I’m sorry I haven’t been able to reply to all of your comments because I get teary eyed every time I try 😂 buuut please understand that I appreciate everything and I’m not ignoring you ♥

Anyway, today I bring back my regular bookish discussion post for you! We’ll be talking about how to turn people into a bookworm 😛 I’m sure all of us bookworms have been in a situation where we are the only people who love to read. While that might be okay for some people, I personally want to have someone close to me who shares my passion with books so we can share books, talk, and fangirl together. Don’t you want the same?

However, it is so hard to find someone like that! And what would you do when you can’t find one? You make one, obviously. That’s why I’ve been trying to turn my 16 year old cousin into a bookworm 🙈 She’s already into reading even before I tried to convert her into a more hardcore bookworm, so that makes my job easier.

Now everyone, think of someone you want to turn into a bookworm! It could be your friends, cousins, niece and nephew, or even your children (but I’m not a parent yet and I think that would involve bed time stories and reading together and such so I don’t know if this applies). We’ll call them our pet project… for lack of better term and because I do consider them my pet project 😛

How to Create A Bookworm.jpg

Assess the Situation

Before you start putting on the effort to turn people into a bookworm, you have to make sure you have the chance to do so. I usually look at the age and the interest of my future project. Do you think they will enjoy reading for hours, or do they prefer moving activities and can’t concentrate for too long? I know my 20 year old cousin who’s too lazy to even read comics is probably a lost cause, but my 13 year old cousin who already loves reading short stories is not. I can work on that. You have it easier if your project is (at least remotely) into reading already 😍

Show Them Why Reading is FUN ♥

This is important. You have to show them reading is FUN and not boring or exhausting or lame to get them interested in it. Show them you’re having a great time while you read. Flail over your favorite books and ship your OTP so hard. Show them it’s all sunshine and rainbow. They’ll wonder what makes you love it so much. DON’T show them the dark side yet! You know I’m all for telling people the pros and cons of everything, but not this time. Let them learn it the hard way, the way we all did 😂 or else they might back down early, and we don’t want that, do we? 😛

And there’s so many ways to do this! I personally love to TALK a lot about books and reading every time I see my cousin. Of course there are two possibilities that may occur : 1) they’re curious and want to try reading for themselves, or 2) they want you to shut up because they’re sick of you talking about the same thing over and over again. It’s important that you know when to stop 😂

23-Orange Yellow Pink.jpg

Recommend Books for Them

This one is a must, but also very tricky. For hardcore bookworms like most of us, reading 1 or 2 or 6 bad books in a row isn’t gonna be a big problem. At worst, we fall into temporary slump, but most of us already know how to deal with it anyway. BUT when it comes to baby reader, you have to be extra careful! I mean, when you just start reading book from certain genre but the first five books you read are all bad or not for you, there’s a big chance you won’t read books from said genre anymore, right? That’s why the first few books they read are important. Hence, recommending books is tricky.

Things I Usually Do.jpg

1) LOOK AT THEIR PREVIOUS FAVORITES. This one is the easiest, you just need to find a book with a similar vibe/plot/writing style/characters and I’m sure we’re all expert in it. If it’s the first time they’re trying to read novel, look at their favorite comics, mangas, or children’s books and draw your recommendations from it. My older cousin loves cute and romantic mangas likes Fruit Basket, Miiko, and Fushigi Yūgi so I know contemporary romance might be the best genre for her.

2) PAY ATTENTION TO THEIR FAVORITE MOVIES AND TV SHOWS. This is also really easy, especially if you love both reading and watching movies. Even easier is if they love movies based on books! You just need to tell them to read the books, tell them the movie is nothing compared to the books and there are so many things they miss from only seeing the movies. I do this all the time 😛

My friend used to only read contemporary, but one day we went to see Catching Fire together. She loved it and I told her the book is SO. MUCH. BETTER. And that’s that, she was sold and ended up reading the whole trilogy. I also did it to my cousin aka my current project. She watched Allegiant and was disappointed so I lend her my book and she’s been a bookworm ever since 😛 but psst…. I could NEVER get people to read Harry Potter no matter how much everyone loves the movies! I guess it’s just too late for most people? 😂

3) JUST TALK TO THEM. When you don’t know a person’s taste, the easiest way to do this is to simply ask them what they like and what they’re looking for in a book. Pay attention to their belief. Are they comfortable reading books that contain abuse, sexual intercourse, graphic murders, or anything that doesn’t suit their belief?

For baby readers, I usually just recommend popular books that most people love or my personal favorites. I almost never recommend a hit-or-miss or ‘heavy’ book for them because I’m not sure yet about their reading taste.

Lend or Buy Them Books & Take Them to the Library

This one requires a sacrifice from you but hey, go big or go home, right? 😛 I lend books for my cousins ALL THE TIME. It’s the easiest way to get them to read more and therefore develop their interest in reading in general.

Sure, sometimes they take too long to return it and sometimes they damage my books, but I always make sure to let them know how precious my books are to me and that they could borrow them all the time as long as they take good care of them. I also tell them that if they mess with my books, I will cut them without a doubt. I’m not joking. My cousin once took my book to her school and her classmate ruined my bookmark by tearing it up. My cousin was furious because she knew I would be furious, so she and her friend stole a similar bookmark from a bookstore.

I did NOT take part in that crime 😂

5-Blue.jpg

Update Them on New Releases, Bookish News, and Sales

I know it’s exciting to keep up with release dates and other bookish related news, that’s why I always make sure to tell my cousin the news or updates that I know she’ll be interested in. I also make sure to tell my cousin every time there’s a book sale coming up. Therefore I won’t be the only one broke from over shopping 😛

Show Them Your Shiny Bookshelves

I mean, aren’t you jealous seeing those pretty, pretty shelves on bookstagram and pinterest? So will your projects! If you have a grand and pretty bookshelf, use it as a tool to make them jealous! I do this all the time by telling my cousin to come to my house every time she wants to return or borrow my books. She usually spends a lot of time in my room, shuffling through books on my shelves. She told me that she wanted to own a lot of books so she could build a shelf like mine. MISSION ACCOMPLISHED.

OH! One time we both wanted to buy the same book and she said she’d buy it because she wanted to build her collections and I could borrow it from her instead. See… my work has already paid off 😛

Introduce Them to the Bookish Community

I’m sure a lot of you would agree when I say being a part of the bookish community is one of the best thing that ever happened to me! ♥ you could to this all at once, or step by step. I opted for the latter. I recently just introduced my cousin to Goodreads when she wouldn’t stop asking me for recommendations. She seemed to be loving it so far and soon I’ll introduce her to book blogging, bookstagram, and book tube 😛

lightpinkdivider

LET’S TALK! Have you tried turning someone into a bookworm? Was it a success? Do you have any other advice other than the ones I wrote above? Tell me your own experience because I’d love to hear your thoughts! ♥

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Find more of me on my social media ♦

Instagram Twitter Facebook Goodreads Pinterest Linkedin

32 thoughts on “How to Turn People Into A Bookworm

  1. I can officially say that I am not the only one who is doing this 😂 Well since some of my best friends are not bookworms,I tried to convert someone in my high school and what do you know? I succeeded.I mean,this one day I was telling her that I love this new vampire series (that is Vampire Academy series btw) and how I would love to be like the MC,kicking ass and hunting monsters 😂 and she was intrigued.Mission accomplished ❤ Now she is hardcore Vampire Academy fangirl 😛 I am trying to convert some people in my college so let's see how that goes 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yayyy congratulations to you! 😀 the key is really to get them intrigued in the first place though, once they are the rest will follow hahaha is she even MORE hardcore than you? 😂 because sometimes the students are ‘cleverer’ than the teachers hahaha 😛 yayy good luck with that! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. PERFECT THE INSTRUCTION GUIDE TO MY EVIL PLANS MWAHAHA 😈 Recommending books to non-readers is my favorite part—it tests how good of a reviewer am i REALLY. Can I find the facets of books even restless donkeys will love?? Can I?? Ah, such a pleasing challenge.
    I’M LOVING THE CREATIVITY, PUPUT!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • YEESSSS GOOD LUCK WITH YOUR EVIL PLANS BECCA 😛 me too! Though most of the times I go overboard and give people 10 recommendations when they only ask for one hahaha 😂 but it really is fun! I’m planning to do a follow up post about a reading starter kit for new readers 😀 and thank you so much Becca! ❤

      Like

  3. Nobody in my family likes to read like I do and it’s the saddest thing! I actually made my mom read a ton last year because she actually enjoys it, but needs a little push. I got her a Kindle and downloaded some books I knew she would enjoy and she read even faster than me! She managed to read like 15 books in a few months, when she had read zero books the year before. My sister, though, doesn’t even like to enter a bookstore and, despite loving the Twilight films and reading the first three books, couldn’t even finish the fourth one because reading ends up boring her. She’s a lost case, like you said haha
    I love how much thought you put into making people into bookworms, it’s so sweet 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • OMG SAME! My little brother was a bit into reading back when he was in 8th grade but no longer so 😂 oohhh that’s actually amazing! My mom never reads hahaha yeahhh I get a little too enthusiastic because I see a full bookworm potential on my cousin and I don’t wanna let it go to waste hahaha 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Nobody in my family is a HUGE reader like I am, and neither are most of my extremely close friends! So, that sucks. My brother, who detests reading, actually read “I Am Number 4” years ago, and finished it quickly, so it wasn’t a complete lost cause! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a bummer! Some of my close friends love to read but not nearly as much as I do. I still shove books down their throat whenever possible hahaha 😛 ahh you should indulge that and get him to try to read more so you won’t be the only ‘book person’ in the family hahaha 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Lovely post, Puput ♥ I don’t really know anyone who’s into reading irl. My mum actually used to read a lot of Stephen King, but she hasn’t read in forever because she’s just way too busy because I have quite young siblings. My dad and one of my sisters is a casual reader. I have, however, recently gotten my 14 year old sister into reading a bit. She finished The Mortal Instruments/The Infernal Devices and is now making her way through Harry Potter (which was probably my proudest moment ever 😅). I’ll definitely have to try some of these tips out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Lauren! 😀 ahh that’s amazing, my mom never reads and *I* haven’t even read any Stephen King’s books 😂 hahaha YEESSSSS IT’S AMAZING! I could never get people to read HP they all feel intimidated hahaha but pleaseeee keep working on your sister 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Great post! I don’t know any other bookworms in real life, but I have ALMOST succeeded in making my best friend a bookworm. It was going great for a while, I was lending her books all the time and we were discussing them but then all of a sudden she had a kind of reading slump and has been reading the same book for over 6 months now… I tried to suggest another book, but it’s not working either. I was soooo close though, so it’s a pity 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love this post! I tried a couple of these things with my cousin and all it turns out all I had to do was give her Twilight when the hype was at its maximum and she easily fell into the bookish community. Sometimes the hype really helps, especially if there’s an upcoming movie adaptation of the book! I’ll be sure to try out some of these methods if I feel I’m in need of a new bookworm friend who is really close to me LOL

    Like

  8. This post is SO FUN! Yes, yes, I do this to people! I have tried to do it with friends, but my only moderate success story is my mom! She was even on my blog! I make her take books out from the library, she listens to my endless stories, and every holiday, she gets a shiny new book I loved hahha. The best part is, because she is my mom, she gives it back to me so I can add it to my shelves, such a win 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love this post so much! And I definitely love trying to turn people into bookworms! I don’t have a high success rate with it right now (I’ve only managed to convert one friend to the way of the bookworm!), so I’ll definitely be using your tips!
    The friend I turned into a bookworm is into totally different books then me, so I just took her to the library with me and she started browsing and found some stuff she liked (she likes chick lit and I’m more into fantasy and historical fiction). My brother and sister are both lost causes I think, but they both have children now, so I’m currently in the process of trying to turn their kids into bookworms!
    Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww thank you 😀 heyyy one person is still a success hahaha ahh yeah it works too! I also find it harder when the person I’m trying to turn into a bookworm doesn’t have the same taste as me hahaha oh nice! I’m also trying to turn my niece into a bookworm 😛 good luck with that ahaha

      Like

  10. Ooh, I love this post! Unfortunately, my sister has hated reading since she first picked up a book. She does read sometimes, but prefers to have the audiobook running when she’s reading. I’ll definitely be paying attention to the things that she’s watching now!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I don’t have any other bookworms in my life. It’s so sad! I love your instructions. 😉 I have 3 small children and a year old niece that loves to read. One day I’ll get to share my books with them!

    Thanks for linking up on Saturday Situation!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I discovered that one of my coworkers is an avid reader, but has limited breadth of genre exposure. She’s just started dipping her toe into the world of fantasy, and since that’s just about all that I read, well, I have been pushing books on her like crazy.

    I would also add to this list: When they DO read a book, ask them what aspects they do and don’t like. For example, my coworker didn’t like the books I suggested that had a simple plot and were more character-focused. But she LOVED the ones with the complicated world-building and twisty-turny plots. So I’ve adjusted my recommendations to accommodate 🙂

    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ohh one of my friends is like that too, I’m trying to get her to branch out because honestly she misses out on some great stuffs hahaha 😛 it’s good that you take that opportunity to convert her into a fantasy reader hahah

      Ohh yes I never do that I usually just pay attention to her feedback hahaha great advice! 😀

      Like

  13. Pingback: This was a weird week [The Sunday Post] – FaerieFits

  14. Pingback: Sparkling Letters Monthly Recap: January 2017 | Sparkling Letters

  15. Pingback: Monthly Minutes at Midnight: January 2017 ⋆ It Starts at Midnight

Leave a Reply

