Review: PS I Still Love You // First Love is So Adorable!

Sparkling Letters Book Blog- Review-PS I Still Love You by Jenny Han (1).jpg

RATING : 45-stars

Goodreads Amazon The Book Depository • My Review of TATBILB

You know what prevented me from reading To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before? The possibility of a love triangle. You know what prevented me from reading this book? The possibility of another love triangle 😂 That was why I put off reading it for so long… but no, I was worried over nothing because this, the love triangle, was executed perfectly! In fact the whole book was perfection and I had so much fun reading it ♥

In this book Lara Jean shows the perfect dose of maturity for a teenager and I completely relate to her! She’s innocent, super caring, insecure, and she overthinks things and it’s just SO ME! I hate that people keep saying she’s whiny because guess what, she’s 16. She has every right to be whiny and jealous, especially when her boyfriend is still hanging out with his manipulative ex who openly hates her. I’d be whiny too if I were her and I’m 22. Sue me.

Just like in the previous book, Peter completely stole my heart. He’s just so… real. He’s sweet and attentive but never too much. Sometimes he stands up for Lara Jean, sometimes he’s not and be a jerk instead. But that didn’t make me dislike him, that just made him more realistic because high school boy is indeed like him. Though I admit, I wish he was more sensitive to Lara Jean’s feeling because he could be very oblivious sometimes.

John Ambrose McLaren turned out to be the dreamiest of all the dreamy guys. He’s just so dreamy and kind and mature. I didn’t ship him with Lara Jean, but I couldn’t even hate him from coming between her and Peter. In fact, I was kind of sad to see how things turn out in the end </3

Sparkling Letters Book Blog- Review-PS I Still Love You by Jenny Han (2).jpg

My most favorite part of the book was everyone’s relationship! I especially love Lara Jean’s relationship with her family. I love to see how she shares secrets with Margot and asks for her advice even if Margot’s a thousand miles away from home. I love to see her bickering, bittersweet interaction with Kitty it was just the cutest! Kitty doesn’t understand a lot of things due to her practical brain and young age and I love how Lara Jean handled that. But most of all I love their relationship with their dad, it was so easy and heartwarming.

I even love Lara Jean’s relationship with the elders, especially Stormy. She’s just so hilarious! I also started to warm up toward Chris. I never liked her in the previous book and now I started to… sort of, like her. And Lucas! ♥

And don’t even get me started on the romance… At the beginning of the book, Lara Jean and Peter finally made up and began their relationship as boyfriend and girlfriend. For real. It started off a bit humiliating for Lara Jean and I was like “will she ever stop embarrassing herself?” BUT IT WAS ADORABLE. Lara Jean was so cute and Peter was super sweet and I just, I SHIPPED THEM SO HARD, OKAY? There’s so much cuteness in this book I can’t even with it. I love the conflicts and how everyone handled it. I also love how Jenny Han handled the love triangle, it made me considered my take on this trope 😛

If there’s one thing I could change from this book, it’s for Peter to acknowledge the fact that what he did hurt Lara Jean. I’m just not comfortable with Lara Jean taking all the blame for herself. I mean, was she being childish with her jealousy and obsession? Maybe. But is it completely unreasonable? In my opinion, no. I don’t forbid people from being friends with their ex, but if I were 16 and my boyfriend keeps hanging out with his ex without telling me and protecting her secret without me even knowing what it is, I’d be jealous and mad. So yeah, I could definitely see why Lara Jean reacted the way she did. I wish Peter would realize that. Well… whatever, this is starting to turn out to be a personal rant.

Moving on.

Sparkling Letters Book Blog- Review-PS I Still Love You by Jenny Han (3).jpg

While the first book described a lot of Korean foods, this book highlights some of the cultural aspects. At the beginning of the book Lara Jean celebrated the new year with her Korean side of the family. They were wearing hanboks and bowing to the elders. It’s the same tradition as what we have here! I guess that’s one of many things we Asian have in common ♥

The writing was flawless. The words just flew easily and it was so page turning and HILARIOUS! I laughed so much and… ahem, cried a few times and I just, I completely had fun! 😀 Which made me realize that it’s been a while since the last time I enjoyed a book like this. Now all I want to do is reread this book until Always and Forever, Lara Jean comes out! ♥

ALL IN ALL, PS I Still Love You is the perfect book for when you’re looking for something light and adorable. It will blow you away with its cuteness and reminds you of how fun being in love for the first time feels. It will make you feel happy yet sad at the same time. Isn’t that perfect? 😛

watercolour-flower-collection-resize

PS I Still Love You.jpg

Book title : PS I Still Love You (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before #2)
Author : Jenny Han
Publisher : Scholastic Press

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.

lightpinkdivider

Have you read PS I Like You? What do you think about it? Also who else is excited for Always and Forever, Lara Jean? I can’t wait for April to finally come! ♥

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Find more of me on my social media ♦

Instagram Twitter Facebook Goodreads Pinterest Linkedin

20 thoughts on “Review: PS I Still Love You // First Love is So Adorable!

  1. I haven’t read this book because I avoid love triangles like the plague and the one in the first book took me by surprise. But, I will say I’m more curious about this book after hearing your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve always wanted to read Jenny Han’s books, but I start them and give up on them.
    I must push through though – when you mentioend that the first book has Korean food, and that this one has more traditions, you have me hooked! Representation matters, and I love learning more about cultures through books!
    Thanks for the review, Puput!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahh have you tried reading any of her books? This series is actually her only books that I read haha but omg yes!! I love all the cultural references in this book, especially THE FOODS they’re just so yummy ❤ hahaha you're welcome and I hope you love it as much as I did! 😀

      Like

  3. I agree with everything you said, honestly! Lara Jean was such a relatable character – she’s an overthinker and she likes to plan things ahead. She was, of course, a bit whiny, but when I put myself on her shoes, I’d feel exactly the same! I also love her relationship with Peter. I prefer him over John, because he always felt more real to me. John was just too perfect, too romantic, too kind. And as cute as that sounds, it wasn’t realistic at all.
    I’m happy you enjoyed this book as much as I did!

    Liked by 1 person

    • So relatable! She’s so me when I was 16 hahaha omg yes, John is too good to be true and I never know any high school boy who could be so good and gentle like him, while I know a lot of Peters hahaha 😛 yayyy hope the third book is as good, if not better! ❤

      Like

  4. I’m so glad you enjoyed this sequel so much! I was a bit on the fence at the beginning as well, because of the whole love triangle thing, but I thought that it turned out okay, and I LOVED JOHN – not as much as I loved Peter, but well, haha 🙂 I agree, I also loved how relatable the main character felt, she was a real teenager in all of her emotions and I could relate to that so much. Can’t wait for the next book to be released 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Sparkling Letters Monthly Recap: January 2017 | Sparkling Letters

Leave a Reply

