Review: Wolf by Wolf // Historical Fiction isn’t MY Thing but This is An Exception

Sparkling Letters Book Blog- Review-Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin (4).jpg

RATING : 45-stars

Goodreads • Amazon • The Book Depository

Alright, congratulations are in order for me to finally picked up this book!! 😛

Hahaha it’s just that A LOT of my blogging friends raved about this book and they’ve been urging me to read it for monthssss but I kept putting it off and now I finally did! I was nervous I wouldn’t like this book so I lowered my expectation and whoa… this book exceeded it and MORE! Historical fiction isn’t my favorite genre and I don’t even like journey or road trip books but this one I enjoyed so much! I. Loved. It. ♥

Wolf by Wolf is a story about Yael, a 17 year-old Jewish girl, skin-shifter, and part of resistance group whose sole mission is to kill Hitler. In order to do her mission, Yael had to steal someone’s identity and win a motorcycle race, the Axis tour. Following Yael’s journey is AMAZING. I love seeing her past and all the things that made her who she is.

However, I don’t think I connected with her on a more emotional level, probably because Yael herself wasn’t deeply in touch with her emotion except when she was remembering the past. That doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy being in her head, because I did, and I loved watching her thought process. Also she is a really badass girl with so many hidden talents. She rocks!

I really, really liked Luka Lowe! ♥ He’s so cocky and annoying but just like Yael said, there’s something… more. And that more-ness is what intrigued me to find out more about him. I also enjoyed the dynamic between him and Adele/Yael and it made me curious to find out what actually happened between Luka and Adele. Hmm? I also liked Felix! I mean, more like sympathize with him. I feel bad because poor Felix only wanted the best for his family but almost always ended up unconscious or beaten up 😂 I hope he’d get more spotlight in the sequel.

Sparkling Letters Book Blog- Review-Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin (3).jpg

The plot was actually quite simple.

Steal the victor’s identity, win the race from Germany to Japan (!!!), and kill Hitler. BUT it was executed perfectly and the plot seemed much more complicated. I love how it alternated between present and the past because it allowed readers to understand the whole story without any info dump. Although the whole book revolved on a motorcycle race, it wasn’t boring at all! I quite enjoyed Yael and the other racers journey and I love the description of each check point! We had Prague, Rome, Cairo, Baghdad, New Delhi, Shanghai, and Tokyo and those are beautiful places! ♥ also I felt some kind of kinship when the racers are in Asia even though I technically haven’t been to China, India, or Japan 😛

THE TWIST is one of the book strongest aspect. With book like this where the stake of the mission is high, I always brace myself for the worst. I expected the mission to go awry and I even imagine the worst possibility myself. BUT this book still managed to surprise me with its turn of event and that is incredible. I mean, have you read the ending? It was mind blowing and I absolutely adore it.

Another thing I love from this book is the writing. It was methodical but not boring, thorough but not overwhelming. Everything was so vivid and I could imagine each scene perfectly. It reminded me a bit of Schwab’s writing honestly, hehe. I also adored the way Ryan Graudin managed to make us empathize with all the characters, even those who only made little appearances like Miriam and Vlad. It was also so page turning, I couldn’t put it down because I was too curious to know what will happen next.

Sparkling Letters Book Blog- Review-Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin (2).jpg

ALL IN ALL, Wolf by Wolf is an amazing, highly creative story that will blow your mind with its epicness. Morally gray characters, vivid descriptions, and unpredictable plot. I couldn’t find anything I disliked from the book, but there’s still a liiiitle part of me that wasn’t wholly impressed. Hence, 4.5 stars instead of 5. However, it’s still a highly recommended read! ♥

watercolour-flower-collection-resize

Wolf by Wolf.jpg

Book title : Wolf by Wolf (Wolf by Wolf #1)
Author : Ryan Graudin
Publisher : Orion Children’s Book

The year is 1956, and the Axis powers of the Third Reich and Imperial Japan rule. To commemorate their Great Victory, Hitler and Emperor Hirohito host the Axis Tour: an annual motorcycle race across their conjoined continents. The victor is awarded an audience with the highly reclusive Adolf Hitler at the Victor’s Ball in Tokyo.

Yael, a former death camp prisoner, has witnessed too much suffering, and the five wolves tattooed on her arm are a constant reminder of the loved ones she lost. The resistance has given Yael one goal: Win the race and kill Hitler. A survivor of painful human experimentation, Yael has the power to skinshift and must complete her mission by impersonating last year’s only female racer, Adele Wolfe. This deception becomes more difficult when Felix, Adele twin’s brother, and Luka, her former love interest, enter the race and watch Yael’s every move.

But as Yael grows closer to the other competitors, can she bring herself to be as ruthless as she needs to be to avoid discovery and complete her mission?

divider-small

Have you read Wolf by Wolf? What do you think about it? I’d love to hear your thoughts ♥

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Find more of me on my social media ♦

Instagram Twitter Facebook Goodreads Pinterest Linkedin

31 thoughts on “Review: Wolf by Wolf // Historical Fiction isn’t MY Thing but This is An Exception

  1. Ugh, I still need to read this one! I’ve heard fantastic things about this one, and, I agree with you, historical fiction isn’t my jam, but this one sounds so interesting to me. And, yes, I LOVE Schwab’s writing, so I definitely need to read this soon! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review, glad to see you enjoyed it if there was still a little something which held you back. I was a lot like you, I’d not had much interest in reading but figured I’d give it a chance and just ended up loving it. I think it’s because it’s such a unique alt history book which just worked for me. I am not a huge fan of books set during world wars for whatever reason but this book definitely showed me I shouldn’t be too quick to judge. Now I just need to get around to reading the second book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 😀 I know rightttt the premise didn’t intrigue me and frankly the only reason I decided to read it was because some of my close blogging friends pushed me to hahaha ah I get that! Reading this actually made me want to read another WWII book hahaha me too! Can’t wait to read Blood for Blood ❤

      Like

  3. I’ve been considering this book because while I do love historical fiction, alternate history is an entirely different matter. The twist and the premise still had me thinking though because they make this book sound even better. But I have read several reviews of this one and it’s so nice to know that it worked for you even though you’re not a big reader of historical or road trips books. Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely review, Puput! I’ve heard SO many good things about Wolf by Wolf and its sequel, so I really want to pick this up soon. It sounds really unique too! I’m not usually the first person to reach for a historical fiction, but it seems that whenever I read them, I really enjoy them? So, maybe I’ll enjoy this one too!

    Either way, lovely review and thank you for writing about it. ❤ I cannot wait to read this book!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Sparkling Letters Monthly Recap: January 2017 | Sparkling Letters

  6. I keep seeing a lot of raving about this and it’s making me more and more curious. I wouldn’t say that I’m not a fan of historical fiction because I’ve read my fair share way back when but it’s a genre that I’ve never really been big time into. This one sounds so interesting though. Plus, I love books that can surprise me with a twist. I’ll have to try to get around to this sometime this year. Great review, Puput!! 😁💕

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is one of my favorite books, so I am so glad to hear you enjoyed it as much as I did! It’s always great when you take a risk and read outside your comfort zone and end up discovering something amazing. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

