Sparkling Letters // Getting My Bachelor Degree & Extreme Makeover for My Blog

SPARKLING LETTERS

Hello there! Did you notice the new theme of my blog? The new header? Even more, the new name? I did an extreme makeover for my blog and decided to publish it in the event of my graduation. That’s right people, I just graduated from university and I’m sooo HAPPY! ♥♥♥

Bachelor Degree

First thing first, I would love to share the happy news. On July 12, 2016, I finally earned my bachelor of psychology degree after going through a two-hours minor thesis defense session. It was probably the most stressful and anxious situation I have ever been in. I was so nervous I might be having a panic attack…

…. which I’m not exaggerating. The night before the big day, I was having trouble breathing. I had to take some really deep breaths to calm myself down. I tried to sleep early but I kept waking up every two hours or so. And in the morning, I was completely freaking out. My stomach hurt so bad and I was on the verge of throwing up. Worst nervous state ever.

The session was long, at least longer than most people. It usually takes about 1,5 hour but mine was a little over 2 hours. Surprisingly, it didn’t feel long and I kind of enjoyed it. Sure there were some questions that I didn’t understand and couldn’t answers, but I think I nailed it pretty well, considering that I graduated cum laude  🙂 🙂

After 4 years of hard work, I’m finally proud to call myself Khairunnisa Putri Kanhida, Bachelor of Psychology ♦

Here are some pictures from yesterday celebration! I’m so lucky to have these people and their supports. So priceless!

Makeover

After several months of blogging regularly, I finally decided to really personalize my blog. I want the readers to know instantly what my blog is all about as well as notice my own personality in it. Before, I haven’t decided whether this blog is something I want to be serious about for a long time or just something I’ll get bored with after a couple of months. That’s why I didn’t want to invest money in it. So I thought : ‘How personal could I get with free plans and free themes? Surely not much’

Well… wrong. After some times of surfing through the internet, I found out that there are SO MANY free stuffs I can use to personalize my blog. I also took the time to educate myself on font combinations, color palette, and the basic of web designing. So let’s take a look at some of the changes.

New Name

This is definitely the most drastic change of all. When I first started this blog, I had no specific sense of purpose. I was just looking for a place to write and channel my passion. I named it Unboxing My Thoughts because I just blogged about whatever popped into my head. After blogging for several months, I start to know what I really want to do with my blog. I start to know what topics I love and enjoy writing. I narrowed them down to 3 categories, which are books, makeups, and lifestyle. I picked the name Sparkling Letters because I like sparkling things such as makeup and jewelries and letters represent books, which I obviously love, and writings. I hope the name sticks and fits well ♥

New Theme and Header

Before this, I always picked random pictures for my header such as pineapples and flowers. Basically, beautiful pictures in which the color goes together with my current theme. So I decided to design my own header. As you can see, I put together some icons of books, makeups, and flower to represent all the things my blog is all about. The color is pink because I adore it. I also love white because it’s clean and gives the illusion of wide space. I put down a touch of pink for afore mentioned reason.

On the minor side of the change, I also edited my about me and guide to my blog pages.


So what do you think? I hope this change is good for both me and my blog and no matter how much and drastic the change is, remember that I’m still ME 😛

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Find more of me on my social media ♦

Instagram Twitter Facebook Goodreads Pinterest Linkedin

7 thoughts on “Sparkling Letters // Getting My Bachelor Degree & Extreme Makeover for My Blog

  1. Pingback: Sparkling Letters Monthly Recap: July 2016 | Sparkling Letters

  2. Congratulations. The defense sounds really intense. We don’t do thesis or defenses in my country for Bachelor degree so I have never gone through that.However, I have to do that next semester(start my thesis) for my Masters and I am pretty nervous about the whole process. Congrats on nailing yours. Your blog looks amazing, new follower here 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The process was intense because there are several questions that I couldn’t answer but my examiners are both kind and funny! So I could relax a bit and laugh along with them hahaha it was memorable though. I was extremely nervous but it must be the natural reaction one’s got when faced with this kind of situation 😉 I’m sure u’ll do fine though, u’re the only one who knows all about ur research so whatever it is they ask, you must have the answers there somewhere 😀 even if u can, I’m sure u could always smile and shake ur head no because that’s what I did when I didn’t know the answer hahaha 😛 Good luck with your thesis!

      Thank u so much! That’s so kind for u to say 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

