10 Book Tropes I Need to See More Often

10 BOOK TROPES I NEED TO SEE MORE OFTEN - SPARKLING LETTERS BOOK BLOG

A month ago, I wrote a post about 10 book tropes that need to go away and I received a lot of agreements as well as disagreements. So I thought today I’ll write the opposite, which is 10 book tropes I NEED to see more often 😛 most of these tropes probably have been out there often enough, but I LOVE them and I need them even more ♥

According to wikipedia, a literary trope is the use of figurative language – via word, phrase, or even an image – for artistic effect such as using a figure of speech. The word trope has also come to be used for describing commonly recurring literary and rhetorical devices, motifs, or clichés in creative works.

The Tropes

1. Pretend relationship 

I didn’t even realize I loved this trope so badly until Reg @ She Latitude pointed it out on one of her post! Pretend relationship is sooo adorable ♥ It’s so FUN to see two people fake a relationship and along the way they have this ‘Shoot I’m in love with this person’ kind of moment. Definitely the cutest! The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West and The Way to Game the Walk of Shame by Jenn P. Nguyen both have this trope and I luuuurve ♥♥♥

2. Healthy mother-daughter relationship

It’s not uncommon for YA books to have missing parents trope and while it could simplify the matters, it’s also not so relatable. Personally, I have a fairly close relationship with my mom in which we hang out a lot and talk about everything. I’d love to see MORE of that trope especially in young adult fantasy! Blue Sargent and her mom Maura from The Raven Cycle has one of the best mother-daughter relationship of ever ♥ Maura’s choice to never tell Blue what to do was also adorable, though pretty much unrelatable to me (since my mom looooves telling me what to do).

Though I admit… I didn’t have the best mother daughter relationship when I was a teenager either… but still 😛

3. Sibling closeness.

I’m not super close with my own brother but I love it when siblings are close with each other! There’s just something exciting as well as heartwarming in seeing two siblings being protective over each other 🙂 my favorite would be Alec and Isabelle Lightwood from The Mortal Instrument. Not exactly heartwarming, but still 😛

4. Priorities in check

Okay, what I mean here is when characters got their priorities in check, like they will choose their family or the safety of their planet or basically anything more important over the love interest. What is that kind of trope actually called?

As much as I love romance in books, I really, really hate it when characters lost their common sense because they’re too in love?? It’s silly! Love does NOT always conquer it all, does it? Angelfall, my favorite series of ever, features this kind of trope! Penryn and Raffe both knew there was no way around for them and instead, Penryn chose to save her family while Raffe chose his fellow angels. Miracles did happen eventually, but that’s another story 😉 Nina from Six of Crows also got her priorities in check when it comes to choosing between love interest and her nation. #Respect 🙂

5. Characters with passions

I realize it’s not uncommon for a character to have fiery passion for something but I need this in every single YA! 😛 we all know that people always look hotter when they’re doing (or even talking) about their passion, right? 😉 Passion also makes people more interesting and it gives them a sense of strong personality. The quirkier the passion, the better! (though not too quirky either) I totally adore Josh Wasserstein’s passion for drawing and we need more people like him! ♥

6. Multi dimensional characters

I don’t know about you but I so often find a hero/heroine with one-dimensional character, especially in contemporary.

  • Mean girls = high school cheerleader = who cares only about looks and boys.
  • Popular guys = school jocks = super handsome = treat people rudely = most likely dating the most popular girl.
  • Nerds = super smart = incapable of initiating a proper social interaction = play video games all the time.

I’m sorry but people are not cut out from papers.

I mean, I’m a bookworm and a freak when talking about books, but I’m also a makeup junkie who loves to gossip and talk about boys with other regular girls. I’m a pretty social person but I also really like being alone and have my me time. It’s possible for a school cheerleader to be addicted with comic books, right? It’s also highly possible for them to actually be nice and decent to people.

7. Love hate relationship

There are already plenty of book’s with this trope and I. LOVE. THEM. My reason is quite similar with the first trope, that ‘Shoot I’m in love with this person’ moment. It’s just so funny for me to watch people trying to deny their attraction to their supposedly enemies 😛 My favorite book featuring this trope is PS I Like You by Kasie West.

8. Tear jerker

…is this even a trope?

Well, whatever, I LOVE THIS! I love books that give me FEELS! The more tears it causes, the better! </3 and I think it’s not just me, we bookworm specifically seek out books that (figuratively) kill us. I DIEEEE AND I’M HAPPY! </3 Me Before You by Jojo Moyes is my favorite punch in the feels. But The Winner’s Curse trilogy made me sob senseless as well :’)

9. Royal family

I always, always love royal family! I love all things royalty. Royal family? Crown prince? Lost princess? Handmaidens? Palace? Captain of the guard? LOVE ‘EM ALL! ♥ There’s just something so magical and fascinating with it that I couldn’t get enough of 😀 and I actually wrote a post about books that take place in the palace ♥

10. Stab stab stab!

I used to cringe at the thoughts of brutal scene but since about… six months ago? I ENJOY BRUTALITY. Murder? Stabbing? Bloodshed? Ruthless characters? I craveeee for more! 😛 Stabby scenes add to the element of surprise from a book and the more books I read, I found myself extremely pleased to see plot twists! ♦ I really enjoyed the brutality of V.E. Schwab‘s books they’re THE BEST ♥♥ and I’m dying to read Nevernight by Jay Kristoff because I’ve heard there are a lot of insanely brutal moments in it.

lightpinkdivider

Those are 10 tropes I’d loooove to see more often! ♥ What are your favorite tropes in books? Do we have something in common? I’d love to hear your thoughts! 😀 Also, if you know any book featuring these tropes, PLEASE LET ME KNOW 😛

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Find more of me on my social media ♦

Instagram Twitter Facebook Goodreads Pinterest Linkedin

15 thoughts on “10 Book Tropes I Need to See More Often

  1. I’d love to see more novels featuring close sibling relationships as well. I didn’t even realize it was an element I wanted more of until I read Into the Wild Nerd Yonder by Julie Halpern a few months ago. It made me feel so happy to see that bond.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. All these tropes are great, and I just realized that I’m actually a huge fan of the fake relationship one, even though it’s hard to find in literature! Multi-dimensional characters are a MUST, especially in young adult contemporary novels. I find that I always like a novel more if a character has different sides to them because it really does make the story more authentic. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post! I agree with your point about characters with passions, sometimes it feels like the plot takes over and you realise you have no idea what the character enjoys or hates. Everyone has a hobby but hobbies seem to go out the window in some YA novels, it’s just all about the romance or the adventure. Pretend relationships are also pretty fun to read about!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Sparkling Letters Monthly Recap: August 2016 | Sparkling Letters

  5. Pingback: Book Recommendations for the Notorious Shipper Out There! <3 | Sparkling Letters

  6. Pingback: So You Wanna Get Your Heart Smashed? Read These BOOKS! | Sparkling Letters

Leave a Reply

