Graduation Day: Family, Friends, & Happiness Beyond Words

SPARKLING LETTERS BOOK BLOG- GRADUATION DAY-FAMILY, FRIENDS, AND HAPPINESS BEYOND WORDS

This post is gonna be all about ME ♥ that’s right, no book talks or anything, just me and a bunch of pictures 😛 (I tried keeping the size small so the page will load just fine) I might have mentioned on my previous post that my graduation ceremony would be held on August 2. It was AMAZING! It was one of my happiest day of my life and I can’t wait to share it with you, especially with the people who have been so supportive for me. So… yes, this post is dedicated to you ♥ 

For once, I truly felt like a princess. I got all dressed up in my favorite color and I had full on makeup brushed by the talented sojaputri. Seriously girls, if any of you are looking for a makeup artist around Bandung, I definitely recommend her! My makeup stayed on point until the evening and it looks soooo good on cameras. I’m so glad to have her as a part of my special day ♥♥ It was also nice to be the center of attention for one day 😛 People came to congratulate and compliment me and they gave me a lot of presents. It was priceless! I’ll share the pictures of the gifts below 😛

Family

Okay now, let’s be honest. When was the last time we make our parents happy? The answer to that question is probably everyday, because obviously there are simple things we do that make our family happy on daily basis. But when was the last time we made them truly, really happy? So happy that both your mom and dad shed happy tears for you? I don’t know about you, but I could never recall the time I saw my dad cried. Never, until yesterday.

I was chosen as one of several graduate representatives to pay tribute to parents by giving them flowers during the ceremony. The lights were dim and there were songs about parents. We were supposed to walk out of our seat mid song and present them the flowers. I admit, I was super nervous. I had to walk fast before the song ended and my parents were seated on the very far end of the room. I was in heels and tight skirt so you know how that goes. By the time I reached them, they were both crying and I was so shaken because I never saw my dad cried before. I cried on the spot and we hugged and it was one of the happiest moment of my life.

The most beautiful thing in this world is to see your parents smiling (or crying happy tears), and knowing that you’re reason behind that smile (or in this case, that said tears)

I was also happy for myself. I obviously dedicate my degree to my parents, but I also know that I did it myself.

Working on my minor thesis was definitely the most emotional journey I’ve ever experienced. It took me 10 months to finish and an extra 4 months before to prepare the research topic. My personal tutor is a terrific researcher but she’s always busy doing research out of town. A lot of my upperclassmen told me that working on minor thesis with her took longer than usual and that I might not graduate on time.

Did I freak out? Absolutely.

I freaked out every single day. Every time she went out of town, I got more and more afraid that I wouldn’t graduate on time. I got pushy. Along with my friend, we were constantly nagging our tutor for a guidance session. We sent texts, chats, e-mails, we even checked on her office almost everyday.

I couldn’t even remember how many times I cried during the process. One day, I broke down in tears in the library after meeting my tutor. There were a lot of people, but who cared? I was almost hopeless. But lucky me, silver linings come every now and then. I was driven to graduate on time and I finally beat all the odds to be one of the first 10 people to graduate on my year. During the ceremony, I was trembling when the MC announced my name. I tried my best to walk as confidently as I could to greet the dean, but I was truly happy so the smile was genuine. It was so satisfying and I’m extremely proud of myself ♥

Fellow graduates

My fellow graduates, the first 10 people to graduate on our year! Congratulation Kelly, Ayu, Nanda, Sherly, Alin, Ayu, Shafira, Bhagas, & Tata!

But no matter how proud I am with myself, I’m also incredibly proud and happy for my friends. Friends who have supported me through the ups and downs of not just university life, but also life in general. You guys are the best! I was so surprised to see the amount of flowers and gifts I received on my graduation day.

All the flowers

I never thought of myself as one of those people who would receive so many presents on their day. I thought that just happens to those really popular or really nice people. I didn’t think I was worth that many flowers. I would be happy with just a few bouquets from my close friends, but this is way more incredible! I didn’t count, but I got so many gifts! ♥♥ there were also a lot of friends who showed up that I didn’t think would. I mean, I didn’t even tell them the date, but they did show up.

Clearly I underestimated myself and my friends :’) but thank you so much for showing up and bringing the gifts, Uji Aini Zahra Maya Uca Acha Lora Nadia Novi Dita Agfa Riva Hayyi Laras Claudia Belle Dini Olphi Edrisa Tiza Elda Fakhri Rina Hilton Pandu Mario Bugen Revaz Faris Chiko Gilang Caca Audrey Mufqi Opik Pea Sindy Dinda and everybody else. If I didn’t mention your names, please know I didn’t do it on purpose 🙂 It was a busy day and I couldn’t really keep track on who came. So sorry!

Here are some of the flowers

You guys rock! I wouldn’t even be here without all your supports. I’m serious! You all have supported me through everything, gave me the shoulders to cry on, be the person I could bitch to about everything, be my source of happiness. You guys never left me no matter how annoying and cranky I sometimes become. I consider myself unbelievably lucky to be friends with all of you. Thank you for always being there, especially on my special day ♥♥♥

You all made me one of the happiest girl yesterday. Thank you for being a part of my special day, even though I COULD NEVER THANK YOU ENOUGH. I truly appreciate it. Enough said. Last but definitely not least, thank you so much for my fellow classmates. I hope everyone will graduate soon and we’d all become Bachelors of Psychology! Thank you for 4 years and hopefully more years of awesomeness. I love you all! ♥♣♦

University Friends

 

P.S. Fakhri & Bella’s card told me to keep working on my blog because I’m good at it. But I didn’t even know that they (or either of them) read my blog?? That’s just surprisingly nice ♥♥♥

lightpinkdivider

Sooo that was some recaps of my graduation day! I’m sooo happy beyond words! Does any of you share my feelings? Perhaps when you graduated from university yourself? It was so satisfying! ♥ Also, what do you think I should do with all the flowers? I’m not throwing anything away. So far, I thought of bookstagram props, but other than? I’m totally open for suggestions 😛

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Find more of me on my social media ♦

Instagram Twitter Facebook Goodreads Pinterest Linkedin

11 thoughts on “Graduation Day: Family, Friends, & Happiness Beyond Words

  1. Congratulations. Wow thanks for sharing this with us. All the pics look amazing and you do look lovely. I love the pic with your friends too. I am glad that all worked out despite the hiccups especially with the thesis. This post reminded me of how good it felt when I got my degree, the excitement and all the celebrations with friends and family.I am back in school for my Masters now and just about to start my thesis too. I hope all goes well.

    I wish you all the best in the next phase of your life.Congratulations once more.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank u so much, u’re so sweet ❤ me too, I'm so happy to finally be done with it! 😀 ahh good for you, what major are u taking? I have to take master degree if I want to be a psychologist but after 4 years of hard studying, I just can't think of going back to school right now hahaha but maybe later 😛 thank u so much for the wishes, I hope all works well for u too 😀

      Like

  2. Pingback: Sparkling Letters Monthly Recap: August 2016 | Sparkling Letters

  3. Pingback: Sparkling Letters Monthly Recap: December 2016 + Highlights of the Year | Sparkling Letters

  4. Pingback: The Evolution of My Book Photography Style | Sparkling Letters

Leave a comment