Say Goodbye to 2016, My Best Reading Year So Far!

sparkling-letters-book-blog-say-goodbye-to-my-best-reading-year-so-far

Hello everyone! ♥

I can’t believe that 2016 will be over in 4 days! Is it just me or time really goes faster as we grow older? 😛 this has been such a roller coaster year, a lot of good as well as bad stuffs had happened to me, but more about that on my monthly recap. Today we’ll be talking about BOOKS, obviously.

2016 has been an awesome reading year for me. I read wayyy more than the past three years combined 😂 the thing is I was too busy to read during my university years that I only managed to finish 2-3 books each month. This year, however, was more laid back because I had no more credits to take and only had to work on my thesis. Now let’s take a look at my year in books!

2016 1.JPG

Alright, 87 might not be a lot for some of you but it is for me! It’s 47 more books than my reading goal and I feel pretty accomplished for that 😛 also according to my year in books, my average rating was 4.0, which means that I’ve read a lot of great books this year ♥ I can count on my hands the books that I ended up hating.

And now I’m going to present you a list of MY FAVORITE BOOKS published in 2016. Not all of them are 5 stars and some of my 5-star reads didn’t even make the list 😛 I’m confusing like that. I’m also linking this post to Top Ten Tuesday, even though it is OBVIOUSLY more than ten.

watercolour-flower-collection-3Series Finale

Series Finale 1.jpg

CROOKED KINGDOM. This is easily my #1 favorite book this year 😍 Crooked Kingdom is EVERYTHING. It has the most genius plot, the most surprising & unpredictable twist, the most incredible group of characters, so many emotions, and  some amazing diverse representations. Click here for full review.

THE ROSE AND THE DAGGER. I am long overdue for freaking out over this book!! I mean, remember that time when I featured this book on every TTT of ever? 😛 I have no regrets because this is just SO GOOD. The Rose & the Dagger has it all, from snarky sense of humor to unconditional love. It’s such a beautiful ending 😍

THE WINNER’S KISS. I love this series so so so much! ♥ I know this is a hit or miss for most people but I stand by this book forever 😛 I admit, The Winner’s Kiss wasn’t as fantastic as I expected, especially compared to the glorious The Winner’s Crime, but it was still an amazing conclusion to this incredible trilogy.

Ongoing Series

Ongoing Series 1.jpg

GEMINA. I admit, Gemina was a 4-star because to me it wasn’t as good as Illuminae. HOWEVER, Gemina has a better and more complicated plot and SO. MUCH. FEELS. and it is a fabulous, mind blowing sequel to one of the best science fiction series I’ve ever read. Click here for full review.

A GATHERING OF SHADOWS. The pace of this book was a lot slower than I expected, but it was still extremely page turning. It was so character driven and I LOVE THE CHARACTERS ♥ Also the plot, the twists, and the ending were very very very cruel and I seriously need book 3 like yesterday. Click here for full review.

THE HIDDEN ORACLE. This is my current favorite book of Rick Riordan so far! It’s so hilarious and refreshing and for any of you who’s tired of or simply need a break from Riordan’s teenage MC, this book is PERFECT! Apollo is the greek equivalent of Gilderoy Lockhart 😂

Debut & New-to-Me Authors

New to me authors.jpg

THE SERPENT KING. I’ve been trying to sell this book to you for quite sometimes and while I usually use the ‘feel’ angle, I’m going to sell you on the characters right now 😛 There are three incredible main characters in this book. One is a blogger (!!!), one is a fantasy book nerd (!!!), and one is a musician (!!!). Their personality is amazing and their dynamic is even more so. I promise you’re going to love it! Click here for full review.

TELL ME THREE THINGS. This book took me by surprise because I thought it was gonna be sad and focus on grief. But nope, this book is downright adorable and as sweet as chocolate cake 😍 There’s mysterious love interest that will leave you guessing the whole time!

Contemporary

Contemporary.jpg

P.S. I LIKE YOU. If you’ve been following me for a while, you’ll know that I am a real Westie and proud of it 😛 This book was EVERYTHING I love from a contemporary! There’s mysterious love interest,  love/hate relationship, fantastic female friendship, relatable characters, and amazing family dynamic!

HIGHLY ILLOGICAL BEHAVIOR. This book was so simple yet so memorable. I love the characters and the dynamic between them. The nerdiness level is STRONG and also amazingly accurate mental illness representation. Despite its summary, Whaley showed us that mental illness doesn’t always need to be cured and sometimes the best way to deal with it is just to let it be ♥ Click here for full review.

Local Books

Local Books 2016.jpg

I am saddened by the fact that I only read a few local books this year 😦 however, those I read I loved and I just ordered a bunch of new local books so this problem will be fixed soon 😛

INTELEGENSI EMBUN PAGI. The sixth and final book to my favorite local series of ever, Supernova. The first five books tell the stories of each characters (and some crossovers) while this book brought the conclusion to it all. It was mind blowing. All the stars and thumbs up in the world for Inteligensi Embun Pagi! This series has been translated to English and you can buy it from Amazon here ♣

BAJAK LAUT & PURNAMA TERAKHIR. Confession time, I honestly haven’t finished reading this book 🙈 but well… I love what I’ve read so far and I have to post this tonight anyway hahaha this is a humor // historical fiction and written by one of my favorite author. His previous book Sabtu Bersama Bapak instantly stole my heart so I’m confident I’m gonna love this book just as much

THE ARCHITECTURE OF LOVE. If you’re even remotely following the publishing world in Indonesia, then you’ll know there was a HUGE hype about this book. Thank God it lived up to the hype. It’s a heartbreaking AND heartwarming love story that you need to read 😍

lightpinkdivider

YAYYY those are my favorite 2016 releases so far! I said so far because there are A LOT of books that I haven’t read yet, my TBR is as high as the mountain peak and I could never keep up 😂 Now let’s chat! How was your 2016 reading-wise? Has it been a satisfying year or the opposite? And don’t forget to tell me your favorite 2016 release! ♥

Anyway, I’m going on a holiday trip with my family until the new year’s eve and I’m not bringing my laptop. That means I won’t be able to reply to your comments or blog hop until I’m back home 😦 I have my next post on schedule though 😛 but don’t worry I would get back to all you as soon as I’m back home! Happy holiday to you all ♥♥

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Find more of me on my social media ♦

Instagram Twitter Facebook Goodreads Pinterest Linkedin

49 thoughts on “Say Goodbye to 2016, My Best Reading Year So Far!

  1. I REALLY need to read A Gathering of Shadows ASAP! 2016 was pretty good for me in terms of reading, especially this past month in general… so far I’ve read three 5 star reads in December alone, which NEVER happens to me!!
    Anyways, I’m so glad you had an amazing reading year!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree! I mean, after Percy, Jason, Magnus, and the 0ther teenage protagonists, beeing inside Apollo’s head is so refreshing hahaha 😂 though just like you, I LOVE PERCY FOREVER 😛 ahh you should!! It’s my favorite Indonesian books of ever! ❤

      Like

  2. I definitely need to get around to reading A Darker Shade of Magic! As for Crooked Kingdom…..I liked it, just not as much as most people did. Wylan and Kaz are pretty precious, but I felt no connection to Nina or Kuwei while reading, and the writing style didn’t really engage me. I did enjoy it, though!

    My favorite books this year were Merrick by Anne Rice, The Blackthorn Key by Kevin Sands, and Behemoth by Scott Westerfeld.

    Ellie | On the Other Side of Reality

    Liked by 1 person

    • YES YOU SHOULD! Shades of Magic has amazing characters, plot, and world building. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did 😀 OMG REALLY?! Nina is my favorite character!! But it’s okay though sometimes I don’t enjoy popular books as much as everybody does either hahaha 😛 ahh I haven’t read any of those books, but glad to hear you found some new favorites ❤

      Like

  3. I need to read so many of these books! I read Crooked Kingdom and The Rose & the Dagger, and I loved both of them, but I didn’t get around to Gemina, P.S. I Like You, The Hidden Oracle, or A Gathering of Shadows – actually, I haven’t even gotten around to A Darker Shade of Magic yet! That’s one of my top priorities for 2017. My favorite 2016 release was The Crown’s Game, and the sequel is one of my most anticipated 2017 releases!

    Liked by 1 person

    • YAYYY to CK & TR&TD ❤ ahh you should read them when you get the chance, they're so good 😀 Shades of Magic is amazing and 2017 might be the best time to read it, considering the last book will come out in February ❤ ahh I justtt bought The Crown's Game last week and I can't wait to dive straight into it! 😀

      Like

  4. LOVE LOVE LOVE the Serpent King. I keep telling everyone to read it to the point wher I’m probably incredibly annoying lol. 87 is an awesome number. My goal was around 40 too because I figured I would actually read that and ended up reading way more so that was a nice surprise lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I KNOW RIGHT!! Not enough people read that book and this got to change! Hahaha well you are probably annoying them now but they’re gonna thank you after they read it… or not, because they’ll be crying hahaha 😛 yayy high five for surpassing our own goals! ❤ hope 2017 will be an even better year!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Looks like you had an amazing reading year! Congrats 😊 I really need to get a book by V.E. Schwab. So many people seem to love her! And YAS to Crooked Kingdom ❤ I’m so glad everyone seems to like Gemina too. I haven’t gotten to it just yet but all these good reviews are making me really excited. Great post! I hope 2017 goes just as well for you 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yay for a great reading year! I read way more books than I did last year (so far double, but there’s still time for more). I’m starting at a new school next year and I know I’m going to be a lot more stressed and swamped with school, so I’m setting my goal a bit lower next year.

    Crooked Kingdom was SO GOOD! By far my number one book as well! Great diverse characters and a killer plot (literally…), can you get any better? I really enjoyed The Rose and the Dagger, too, but I liked the first book more. I feel like I get so excited for finales that they don’t reach my expectations and then I’m disappointed (such as The Raven King).

    Have fun on holiday! And happy new year! 🙂 I hope your 2017 is just as amazing, if not better, especially reading-wise! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • OMG congratulations!! I also doubled my reading goals and that’s an amazing accomplishment, isn’t it? 🙈 ahh I know how it is, but I’d say it’s worth it because school is exciting (I mean the activities and friendships etc though haha) YESSSS Crooked Kingdom is THE BEST ending I’ve read in a while and I can’t wait for Leigh Bardugo’s new books ❤ I liked TW&TD a bit more too because it kinda focused more on Shazi & Khalid which I shipped SO HARD hahaha

      Thank you and you too! Hope 2017 will be even better for all of us and good luck with school 😀

      Like

  7. Crooked Kingdom seems to get nothing but great reviews- I’m kinda excited for it and it wasn’t even on my radar screen a short time ago! And Gemina I have coming up soon, I need to get to it since Illuminae left me hanging! 🙂

    Have a happy New Year!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I really need to read something by VE Schwab, I keep seeing her books everywhere. And congratulations on reading 87 books – and the fact that so many of them were 4 stars reads is awesome. I hope all the books you pick up next year are just as good 🙂 Loving your photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. What a wonderful post! So many great books and the pictures here are all 😍. Also, reading 87 books is pretty incredible!
    I really should get around to reading Six of Crows someday next year, everyone’s raving about it, ahah. Also, I’m so glad to see Gemina and A Gathering of Shadowws in this list, I loved book, and I can’t wait for the sequels to come. And The Serpent King ? All of my feels. I’m still not over that book ahah. I really want to read tell me three things, I’m so glad to hear you liked it so much 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww thank you so much Marie! 😍 YES YOU SHOULD! I can’t remember how many times I pushed people to read this hahaha but it’s just so good, I hope you get the chance to read it next year 😀 The Serpent King just made me cried so hard and yes I’m not over it either hahaha I hope you read Tell Me Three Things soon! It’s so adorable ❤

      Like

  10. Ooh, it sounds like you had a wonderful reading year! 87 books is definitely something to be proud of (it’s about the same number I read this year, too :). I’m SO happy to see Crooked Kingdom, Gemina, and A Gathering of Shadows on this list. Three of my favorites of the year for sure. I also adore The Serpent King! So many of the others are on my TBR– Tell Me Three Things, PS I Like You, and The Rose and the Dagger being at the top of my list. I love that you featured local books in this list, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was a wonderful year indeed 😀 ahh yayy high five! Is it more or lass than your goals? Those books are AMAZING I’m so glad I read them haha ohh Tell Me Three Things and PS I Like You are so cute and adorable 😍 and TR&TD too! Hope you enjoy all of them as much as I did. Ohh thank you, I’m working to read more local books as well 🙂

      Like

  11. Congrats on meeting your reading goal! Crooked Kingdom and The Winner’s Kiss were on my favorites list as well. I’m also hoping to read Tell Me Three Things soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment